In which Liankai and Qin Sang open their hearts to each other…


 

Episode 21

Lianshen issues orders to his subordinates as Papa Yi listens in approvingly, until one of the guards says Lianshen’s mode of commanding resembles Sixth Uncle.

Liankai and Qin Sang try to leave Yongnan, only to overhear that it’s been blockaded. They take refuge in what looks like a run-down temple. Liankai says he bribed a local businessman who agreed to smuggle one of them out when he makes deliveries. Tells Qin Sang to go first and when she asks about him, says he’ll think of another way to escape.

Lianshen reassures Yanyun that his priority is saving Liankai and Qin Sang. On his way out, he’s told that Adjutant Song went back to his hometown which astonishes him. Gives the order for Adjutant Song to rendezvous with him. Then Maternal Uncle waylays him and says that since Papa Yi trusts Lianshen with military matters, he’s already leaning towards him as his heir. If Liankai were to die in Yongnan… But Lianshen cuts him off sharply and says that while ‘brothers can dispute, can vie, can seize, they absolutely cannot harm each other.’ Maternal Uncle persists and asks if Lianshen is ‘really willing to be another Dorgon’ but Lianshen is adamant and says he’ll pretend he never heard all this and hopes that his uncle won’t bring up this subject again.

Liankai dozing in the temple while Jianchi flies a kite in the field of flowers, hoping to lure Qin Sang out. Qin Sang spots the kite and then looks at Liankai. Thinks to herself: Lan Po, he’s come. (Sheds tears 😒) He’s come to save me. Use the chance to escape yourself.
She leaves and plays hide-and-seek on the streets with members of the Umbrella Society who spot her within minutes. Their shouts cause Liankai to jerk awake. He goes in search of her, they get shot at, he goes into 007 mode but appears to get hit in the shoulder.

Back in the temple, the Dratted One sobs like he’s on the verge of death.
She: I didn’t think it would be a trap, that it would cause you to be hurt, I’m sorry (x umpteen times)
He: Xiaosang, were you going to look for that man flying a kite?
She: I wasn’t! I wasn’t! (Well!!)
He: To be honest, I rather hope that your wishes can be fulfilled…
She: I don’t want! I don’t want! (x 4 or 5 times, her hands all bloody. I know she’s shaken but the way she’s carrying on, you’d think he was shot in the chest rather than the shoulder).
He: Everyone says that Third Master Yi is frivolous. In front of you — in front of you, I’m also flippant… But who can understand my isolation, my loneliness deep down? Do you know how much I wished I could just cry my heart out? That after crying, someone could come save me, my mother could return to my side… But I knew, even if I shouted myself hoarse, no one would come to my rescue, no one… I had to face up to reality, face up to reality: I was to live on alone… (Coughs in pain)

At night, he’s fallen asleep on her shoulder. (At least she seems to have had enough presence of mind to put a tourniquet around his injury.) He wakes up and she offers to get him something to eat but he stops her and tells her not to leave his side. Says that if she’s spotted outside, they won’t have any chance to escape. (She was actually thinking of going outside again???)

He: I’m scared to have you leave my side. Even if it’s only for a minute or a second, I can’t… Xiaosang, I love you.
(She gives a trembly smile in response.)
He: But I never knew how to go about loving you. I always pretended to be cold, I thought you would understand my love for you (🤦) but I was wrong. I used to impose my way on you but my love became a kind of suffering, a kind of insult to you. Maybe we won’t survive this night, that’s why I dare to tell you how I really feel. Xiaosang, I love you. I really love you…

She leans foward to bestow a tearily passionate kiss on him. Then it’s her turn.

She: I always thought our marriage was a kind of transaction which is why I didn’t dare fall in love with you. Because I knew that if I fell for you, it would be betraying my own soul (🤔).
He: Xiaosang, some people love passionately but have to pretend to be cold as ice until they can’t even be passionate even if they wanted to.
She: I’ve been fighting to control myself all along, doing my best to keep you at arm’s length but when I saw you and Min Hongyu together, I was almost crazy with jealousy.
He, pulls her into a hug: Xiaosang, trust me, there’s really nothing between Min Hongyu and me. You’re the only one I love.
She: I was jealous of her, jealous of how much freedom she has. She can love whomever she wants. She’s never had to lie to herself.
He: Do you know? I came up with so many ways to try and get you to open up your heart. I wanted to make everything of yours mine. But I couldn’t succeed. I couldn’t succeed because your heart was elsewhere. It’s too late now. I couldn’t express my love for you. Do you know? I once fantasised about many ways to love you, to show my care and concern for you but now, I’m using the stupidest method to express my love.
She presses her very bloodied hand to his lips (why didn’t she clean it?!).
She: Don’t say any more. Maybe we can’t survive tonight. Maybe… we won’t have another chance.
(Slowly removes her too-red hand and smiles at him, then begins to unzip her dress)
He: Are you really going to accept me?
Cue the very nice ending song as they kiss passionately.

Umbrella Society men report to Jianchi and they continue searching for the couple.

Back in the temple, husband and wife cuddle as they gaze out the window at the round, round moon.

She: Lan Po, look how round the moon is tonight.
He then quotes some lines of poetry in response.
She: Every time I look at the moon, I’ll think that there’s only one moon in this world. There will definitely be someone who’s also looking at it at the same moment as me. How nice if this person were to be dashing and handsome and if I could fall in love with him, that would be even better.
Smiles up at him: Now, I’ve met this person.
He: Xiaosang, do you remember the circumstances of our first meeting?
She: I’m not willing to remember. Whenever I recall the past, I just find my conduct too shameful.
He: The first time I saw you, I thought you were stunning, so beautiful as to be unreal, just like an angel (groan, of all the clichés…)
She: Lan Po, you must remember the shape of the moon tonight. If we don’t survive this night, then we must rely on the moon to recognise each other in our next life.

He smiles and kisses her. They then hear voices in the distance so he goes to take a look but they remain undiscovered. Liankai says they can’t be sitting ducks forever and they try to make a run for it. They hide from a group of Umbrella Society members who are sitting on a jeep. Liankai says he’ll draw the men away and tells her to look for Min Hongyu who will definitely help her. Qin Sang refuses but he kisses her and moves away and incredibly, actually gets into the jeep without the men becoming aware of his presence until he steals the jeep from under their noses. They give chase and she slips off.

Jianchi and more men arrive on the scene and he purposely sends them off on a wild goose chase while he goes in search of her alone. Meanwhile, 007 is being pursued and drives through a hail of bullets before he and the jeep plunge into a river…

[Skippity skip some scenes] Papa Yi looks at Liankai’s photo and recalls his wedding night with Liankai’s mama where they exchanged wine cups and then later on, their falling out.

Slimy and Li Chongnian discuss the situation and since nothing is known about the leader of the Umbrella Society, Slimy suggests that Li activate Min Hongyu to find out more and then we cut to a breathless Qin Sang who has found her way back to Min Hongyu’s place and just nice, collapses inside the entrance.

Jianchi and Uncle Hat discuss Liankai’s death. Jianchi is furious, questioning why he was sent to help Liankai become the heir when Uncle Hat wanted Liankai dead. Uncle Hat ticks him off and says without a body, they cannot assume he’s dead. Tells Jianchi to remember his own mission.

Qin Sang having a nightmare about Liankai driving through a hail of bullets. Wakes up and hears some cheerful music playing. Goes out and sees Min Hongyu practising dancing by herself. Qin Sang asks her to help find out what has happened to Liankai but Min Hongyu says the only way is to get close to Uncle Hat, which is also the most dangerous.


Edited.


Previous Episode | Next Episode

10 thoughts on “Episode 21: If Only We Could Turn Back Time

    1. LOL! Some of their lines are very facepalm-worthy 😂 The danger of being too confessional, I think! Haha!
      Jokes aside, I actually feel Elvis Han has really made the role of Liankai his. The lines still have some cringe effect but on the whole, he carries them off quite well.

      Liked by 2 people

  1. Who knows if one day, Lianshen will remember his words “brothers can dispute, can vie, can seize, they absolutely cannot harm each other”.
    Even if I find a bit (a lot) silly QS’s love declaration because it is too abrupt, she just conveniently forgets that a couple of episodes ago she wanted to elope, I wish that a similar and open confrontation could happen in the novel.
    At least in the drama, they made the leads honestly talk, something that in the novel never happens

    Like

    1. I don’t know if it’s the editing or screenplay that has her so forgetful haha!
      Drama Lianshen still cares about his brothers. I’m waiting to see what makes him turn finally (besides his wife’s fate).
      The novel is about a very one-sided love kept well-hidden hence the lack of obvious romance. I guess part of the tragedy stems from this lack of understanding until it’s too late…

      Like

  2. LS says that now but later he’ll be a monster. The sudden confession as if YLK is going to die at the moment is so abrupt and strange lol. I don’t buy her sudden love for him note she did try to run off moments and episodes before wth lol. Anyways, the confession is so cringey we need a rewrite haha.

    Like

      1. Can’t really blame her from her uncertainty and wavering attitude…but to seriously consider eloping…well…”frailty, thy name is woman.”

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment