The Godlike Jade Rabbit Chapter 11

Dandan makes some things clear…

Note: PLEASE DO NOT link any translations on this site to anywhere on Novel Updates, whether it’s the updates list or reading lists.


© 12 and
theresanother.wordpress.com
2017 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of the translation without express and written permission from 12 is strictly prohibited.


 

Ch. 11 | Jealousy

 
It was evening and Dandan was sitting in a pavilion in the back garden eating steamed fermented rice cakes when a little white dog came over.

‘Big brother.’

Hmm, this little piping voice is quite appealing.
Dandan wiped the crumbs from the corners of his mouth and looked at his visitor.

‘What’s up?’

The little white dog trotted into the pavilion and transformed into a human. ‘My name is Troy and I’m new here. Second Master is letting me stay in the eastern side rooms.’

In his human form, the little white dog had a head of short and glossy crow black hair and a slender build. He looked cute in a cream-coloured changshan with gold embroidery that had been tailor-made for him.

‘Uh huh.’ … How is that… any of my concern?

‘How long have you been here, Big brother?’

‘Almost a month.’

‘Were you also captured by beast trappers?’

‘You can put it that way.’

In the moonlight, Troy’s black onyx eyes seemed to gleam with a peculiar lustre. ‘You’ve been here a month but Second Master hasn’t yet made a pact with you, so that probably means he doesn’t like you, right?’

Oh.
Ohhh.
Ohhhhhh.
Like that, was it?

Dandan quirked an eyebrow. ‘Nope.’

‘Eh?’ Troy paused for a moment.

Dandan took a bite of his fermented rice cake and chewed for a while. ‘Second Master may not have made a pact with me, but he bestowed his Blood Weapon on me.’

Troy was abruptly taken aback. ‘Wh-what… his Blood Weapon?’

‘Mm, yep,’ Dandan nodded unconcernedly. ‘Also, you said you were staying in the eastern side rooms, right? I forgot to introduce myself. I’m Dandan and I’m currently putting up in Hengfeng House — Second Master’s bedroom.’

Troy was reduced to speechlessness.

Dandan pushed the tray of steamed fermented rice cakes over. ‘Do you like desserts? These are my leftovers which you can have if you like. Take it as your supper. You’ve just arrived so don’t let yourself go hungry.’

After saying all that, he walked out of the pavilion but turned back after two steps. ‘Oh yeah, as I recall, the Qing dynasty collapsed a long time ago and I have no interest in acting out this type of palace intrigue with you because it’s stupid. If you want to be Song Lin’s bonded spirit beast, spare me your posturing¹ and just kill me immediately — if you really have what it takes.’

Troy: ‘…’ Mama, this rabbit is a holy terror…

¹ 裝腔作勢 zhuāngqiāng-zuòshì. If you’re not reading this chapter at hiding in plain sight, it has been stolen and reproduced by novelscraping sites.

Dandan returned to the bedroom only to find that the one big bed in it had now become two beds and Styx was currently directing the servants to prepare the bedding.

Song Lin was calmly drinking tea in a corner.

‘What’s… going on?’ Dandan asked.

Styx replied, ‘As you can see, Second Master and you are going to sleep in separate beds.’

Dandan asked, ‘Why?’

Song Lin was just about to answer but Dandan was already supplying his own. ‘Now that there’s a new spirit beast, Second Master is tired of me? This is what they call “have eyes only for the mistress’s smiles but deaf to the wife’s sobs”. Who would have thought the grand Second Master Song would turn out to be a heartless cheating husband boo hoo hoo ~’ Upon which he produced a handkerchief from somewhere to dab at his non-existent tears.

Styx rolled his eyes. ‘Your own sleeping posture is a disgrace and you keep disturbing Second Master’s sleep. Of course you have to sleep in separate beds. You still have the nerve to complain?’

‘Eh? My sleeping posture is a disgrace? Excuse me, but Second Master Song is the restless one here. I’ve yet to get even with him for kicking me down from the bed last night.’

The corners of Styx’s mouth twitched and he struggled for a long moment to keep his customary icy expression.

‘Second Master is already being highly gracious by allowing you to sleep here in his bedroom. You had better behave yourself.’ After that remark, he led the whole retinue of servants out.

Song Lin put down his teacup and glanced at Dandan. ‘What’s the matter? Did something happen just now to put you in this bad mood?’

‘Your new favourite bothered me while I was eating my fermented rice cakes, that’s what.’

Song Lin’s expression did not change as he commented, ‘Oh, really? If you haven’t had enough, I’ll tell the kitchen to make you some more.’

‘I’m not hungry now.’

Song Lin stood up and walked towards him, that innate and intensely commanding aura of his forcing Dandan to take a step back involuntarily. As Song Lin drew nearer with each step, Dandan was forced to take a corresponding step back until the backs of his knees brushed against the edge of the bed. His legs buckled and he sat down heavily on the bed.

‘W-wh-what do you want?’

Song Lin pulled gently at Dandan’s downy ears. ‘Little one, would I be correct in saying that right now you’re… jealous?’

‘… Huh?’ Dandan gaped.

Jealous?
No way, how can that be? Yu Huan had more than one spirit beast last time, but I was never jealous of Scythe or Phantom. So there’s no way I would have such feelings.

Having reassured himself, Dandan replied with supreme confidence, ‘I’m not jealous.’

Song Lin’s eyebrows rose slightly. ‘Then why do you bear such a grudge² against the new spirit beast?’

‘I hope you’ll get something clear.’ Dandan grabbed his collar and with a heave, threw him on to the bed. He then sat astride Song Lin’s pelvis, leaning down so that they were chest to chest, bumping noses as he said seriously, ‘I was the one who defeated the tiger-crocodile so I’m the most qualified one to make a pact with you. I don’t give a damn about some nobody. It doesn’t matter if you don’t make a pact with me for now because you’ll be my owner sooner or later. One thing I’m dead certain of is that I’m the only one in all of Ridge City who can become your bonded spirit beast. Just you wait and see.’

² 耿耿於懷 gěnggěngyúhuái. Translation belongs to theresanother(DOT)wordpress(DOT)com.

Song Lin’s light blue eyes widened, reflecting the stubborn yet resolute face above him. He could see the naughty pink tongue with every parting of the youth’s delicate lips. It was most tempting.

This was a danger sign.

He rarely lusted after anything.

Tonight was a marked exception.

In particular, this most alluring young man with a delicate scent who was still straddling him and declaring right of ownership in deadly earnest… This was something which further… stoked his desire.

He really wanted to teach this cocky³ little thing a lesson he wouldn’t forget and then cuddle him afterwards.

At this juncture, he noticed the slight tipsy flush on Dandan’s face and asked after a pause, ‘What cake did you say you had just now?’

‘Steamed fermented rice cake. Why?’ Dandan’s eyelids were drooping as he said this.

After an interval, Song Lin’s Adam’s apple bobbed as he commented, ‘You appear to be drunk.’

‘Drunk? Not me… I can drink anyone under the table…’

‘Then tell me, why do you want to be my spirit beast so badly?’

‘Because…’ Dandan reached out and caressed his face, ‘to me, you’re… very…’

Very important.

‘What did you say?’

‘You smell…’ Dandan leaned closer and sniffed his neck, ‘like him…’

Song Lin’s brows drew together and he asked, ‘Who?’

‘You, duh.’ Dandan lightly poked at the space between Song Lin’s eyebrows, his own gaze already unfocused. He seemed about to fall asleep. ‘I’ve been searching for you for so long… so long… All those years, I was on Dragon Ridge, all by myself, no you, no Scythe, no Phantom. When I was tired, I slept and after waking up, I would go down and look for you. When I couldn’t find you, I would go back and sleep again. Over and over like that for decades, almost driving myself mad. Bi An says I’m too obsessed but I can’t help it… It took me so long to get used to having you with me, how do you expect me to suddenly adjust to your not being there?’

Song Lin flipped him over, pinning him with his body. ‘Who exactly is that person you’re searching for?’

‘…’ The sound of drawn-out breathing was all the answer he got.

Dandan had fallen asleep.

‘…’ For the first time in his life, Song Lin got to experience what frustration felt like. He wanted to shake Dandan awake and get to the bottom of everything, but that sleeping face was so adorably peaceful that he couldn’t bring himself to wake him. He gazed at Dandan and muttered to himself, ‘Are you really as innocent as you appear or are you an extraordinarily good actor?’

³ 不知天高地厚 bù zhī tiān gāo dì hòu. Please consider reading from hiding in plain sight rather than from novelscraping sites.

The effects of the wine saw Dandan sleeping heavily until noon the next day and when he woke up, Song Lin was nowhere to be seen. He took a turn around the manor and discovered that Troy was also gone.

Deuce! Don’t tell me I was too aggressive yesterday and scared him into eloping with the little white dog today? Although, if I’ve managed to force the famous Second Master Song into eloping, wouldn’t that mean I’m — quite something myself…?

‘What are you muttering about?’ Styx’s sepulchral tones floated over from behind him.

Dandan’s head swivelled round sharply. ‘Nothing… where’s Song Lin?’

Styx snorted coldly. ‘Second Master didn’t tell you? He went to the Fascinating Forest.’

‘To acquire a magic weapon?’

‘Obviously.’

‘Took Troy with him?’

‘Yes.’

‘…’ Dandan felt a bit annoyed about it. Why take Troy along and not me instead?

Styx saw through him and said, ‘Troy knows the terrain of the Fascinating Forest. What use would you be? You would only be in the way.’

Dandan had no comeback for the moment.

‘Hey, Ol’ Fish Eyes, since Song Lin isn’t around, let’s go stuff ourselves in the kitchen.’

‘I’m not interested.’

‘Delish roasted lamb legs ~’

‘Not interested.’

‘I say, Ol’ Fish Eyes, are you also upset that Song Lin didn’t take you along with him to the Fascinating Forest?’

‘Nonsense. Second Master must have had his own reasons for leaving me here.’

‘What reasons?’

‘With Eldest Master and Second Master away, there needs to be someone in the manor who can make decisions.’

‘Put bluntly, he left you here to be a guard dog.’

This arrow found its mark and quivered in Styx’s heart. He rubbed his temples and said, ‘… No such thing.’

Dandan curled his lip.

Styx growled angrily, ‘Are you laughing at me?’

‘Nope.’

‘If I see the corner of your mouth go up by one millimetre, I’ll split your lip.’

Dandan covered his mouth and said, ‘I’m going to the kitchen.’

‘I saw you smiling, you dratted rabbit!’


(Approx. 1802 words)

12’s notes:
24/9/2019: Substituted the word ‘magic’ for ‘special’.

☆ Please show moral support by reading the original and free translations from hiding in plain sight. © 12 and theresanother.wordpress.com 2017. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of the above material without express and written permission from 12 is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to 12 and theresanother(DOT)wordpress(DOT)com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content. Example here.

©


 
 
 

Translated and edited by 12


Previous Chapter | Next Chapter

Browse all chapters| Glossary

5 thoughts on “The Godlike Jade Rabbit Chapter 11

  1. I like how Dandan immediately shut down the palace intrigue. There was lots of fun tension this chapter. Dandan’s way of asserting dominance is really unique. He was searching for decades, really? That sounds so lonely. I now think that actually, Styx is a little bit cute? I would like to see him and Dandan bonding. Thanks for the translation!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. If you don’t mind, I can drop you a line at your email address? You have to include your email address when you leave a comment.

        Like

Leave a comment