The Godlike Jade Rabbit Chapter 54

The aftermath…

Note: The next update for this story will be in a fortnight’s time 🙇🏻‍♀️.

Note: PLEASE DO NOT link any translations on this site to anywhere on Novel Updates, whether it’s the updates list or reading lists.


© 12 and
theresanother.wordpress.com
2017 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of the translation without express and written permission from 12 is strictly prohibited.


 

Ch. 54 | Sounding him out

 
Styx knocked on the door and Song Lin’s voice said from within, ‘Come in.’ He pushed open the door and entered just as a servant girl carrying a basin of bloody water hurried out.

Song Lin, wearing a white shirt, was sitting beside Dandan’s bed. Underneath his shirt was a barely visible bandage which was slightly pinkish, so that basin of bloody water just now clearly had not been his.

Dandan, who was sitting on the bed, had his head lowered as he concentrated on buttoning up his clothes one button at a time. Medicine had just been applied to his chest but the wound was still a shocking sight.

Song Lin saw Styx walking over and asked, ‘What is it?’

‘The League just sent word… the House of Bai has withdrawn from the contest.’

‘Withdrawn?’

‘Yes, Bai Yini officially announced that she was pulling out of the Guardians’ Tournament.’

Song Lin didn’t know what Bai Yini’s reasons were, but this news came as a relief to him since Dandan in his current condition could not recover fast enough to be able to compete. ‘… Right, got it.’

‘Oh, yes.’ A sudden thought struck him and he asked, ‘How’s Troy?’

Styx could only shake his head helplessly. It took Dandan a while to react after hearing their exchange. ‘Troy?’

‘Yes.’ Styx looked steadily at him, ‘Troy was pierced through the heart by a sword, shattering his heart receptacle. He can’t be saved.’

A hush fell over the room at this news.

Because of Troy’s betrayal, everyone’s feelings towards his current circumstances were quite mixed but on a day when both sides had suffered losses¹, Song Lin had still decided to bring Troy back to the manor to try to save him.

Dandan lowered his head, thinking about something and at last asked softly, ‘Can I see him?’

‘Yes,’ said Song Lin. ‘I’ll go with you.’

¹ 两败俱伤. If you’re not reading this chapter at hiding in plain sight, it has been stolen and reproduced by novelscraping sites.

When they arrived at Troy’s room, there was no one on the bed. Only a small white dog lay curled up on the chair. He did not have enough spiritual power left to transform into his human state.

Upon seeing Song Lin and Dandan, he lifted his eyelids weakly and happened to meet Song Lin’s gaze. He asked softly, ‘Second Master, why did you still bring me back here even after I had betrayed you?’

Song Lin replied, ‘You saved my life in the Fascinating Forest. I don’t like owing anyone favours so bringing you back is my way of repaying that debt.’

Troy’s eyelids quivered. He didn’t expect that Song Lin would still talk to him so calmly at such a time like this.

Then he looked at Dandan…
Dandan…
To him was a rather special existence…
He was on the verge of speaking then stopped, feeling that words were useless now, only to feel that there were still some things which had to be said.
‘Brother Dandan, I’m sorry.’

‘Mm hm.’ Dandan squatted down and patted his fur gently. ‘I’ve received your apology but I’m not going to forgive you.’

Troy was faintly startled then he said softly, ‘It’s okay if you don’t, it’s right not to.’

Dandan’s ears wilted. ‘I thought it would sound really cool if I said that but now I actually feel rather bad.’

Troy smiled faintly and said weakly, ‘You mustn’t forgive me… I hope you’ll never meet a friend like me ever again…’

‘Styx told me that you threw away the poisoned apples, right?’

‘Ah, they were the Crone’s idea. I couldn’t bear to in the end so I threw them away…’

Dandan sniffled. ‘You really are an incurably² stupid spy.’

‘Really?’ Troy’s head drooped in embarrassment. ‘Even you think I’m stupid too?’

‘And we already agreed to go together to the hot spring in the Fascinating Forest, you fool.’

‘You’ll probably have to go to the hot spring by yourself,’ Troy said, blinking slowly, his eyes a little blurry. ‘Brother Dandan, you said I would definitely have an owner as long as I kept waiting. But I don’t think… I can wait much longer.’
He took a shallow breath, exhaling slowly but even this action alone seemed to use up all his strength.
‘I think I’ll never have an owner in this life, maybe my whole existence was a mistake. I’m sorry, everyone, for all the trouble I’ve caused.’

² 无可救药. Translation belongs to theresanother(DOT)wordpress(DOT)com.

Dandan took off the Qingling pendant. ‘Haven’t you always hankered for a magic weapon bestowed by an owner? You can have this.’

After saying that, he turned round to look at Song Lin who made no objection so Dandan hung it round Troy’s neck, saying, ‘Let it keep you company from now on.’

‘Giving this to… someone like me…’ Troy’s eyes began to droop. ‘Dandan… you really are… stupid…’

‘What right does an incurably stupid spy have to call me stupid?’

The little white dog smiled unconsciously after hearing this. He reached up and touched the Qingling pendant briefly, then his paw fell. After that, the little white dog did not move again.

Song Lin patted Dandan’s shoulder before walking out.

Styx was waiting outside for him. ‘Young Master, where should we bury Troy?’

‘Send him back to the Fascinating Forest so he can be buried in his hometown.’

‘Understood.’

Styx ordered that Troy be wrapped in a shroud and then carried out.
 


 
Today, Dandan spent a very long time in Troy’s room and Song Lin waited outside for just as long.

It was evening when Dandan emerged and hearing the sound of movement, Song Lin turned round to face him. Their eyes met. Both had things they wanted to say but neither of them spoke and there was silence for a while.

After an interval, Dandan said, ‘Song Lin, I’ve got a situation to report to you.’

‘Go ahead,’ Song Lin’s eyes were very tender.

‘The Blood Weapon’s been broken and the Qingling Sword’s been given away, so I don’t have any weapons right now.’ He gestured with his hands.

‘Right, it doesn’t matter,’ Song Lin said lightly. ‘You have me and that’s all you need.’

Dandan gazed at him. ‘Am I ridiculously weak right now?’

‘No, even without any weapons, none of them are a match for you.’

‘You think that I’m that strong?’

‘You said so yourself, that you’re very strong.’

Dandan recalled that he had indeed said that before. Song Lin’s bringing it up at this time was particularly comforting. Actually, Song Lin had always seemed especially able to see right through into his heart and especially able to make him feel at ease.

Song Lin asked, ‘Why are you looking at me like that?’

It was then that Dandan realised he had been staring at Song Lin for a long time. ‘No reason…’

‘Do you want a hug?’

‘What?’ Dandan took half a step back in alarm. ‘Course not!’

‘Well, I do.’

‘Huh?’

Before Dandan could react, Song Lin had briskly closed the gap between them and enfolded him into his arms. This embrace seemed to have come out of nowhere yet it felt totally unsurprising³ at the same time.

Dandan stood there rigidly at first then slowly raised his hands and returned the hug.

³ 水到渠成. Please consider reading from theresanother(DOT)wordpress(DOT)com rather than from novelscraping sites.

Song Lin’s voice was very low as he said, ‘I’ve been thinking about something these last few days.’

‘What?’

‘After the Guardians’ Tournament is over…’ He unwittingly tightened his embrace but his words stopped there.

Dandan’s heart skipped a beat. What, don’t tell me you plan on chasing me out again after the Guardians’ Tournament is over?

At length, Song Lin said very slowly, ‘After the Guardians’ Tournament ends, do you want to think about… being with me?’

Being, being with you?
What does that mean?

Dandan was floored.
He cautiously turned over the meaning behind Song Lin’s words and finally ventured, ‘W-we’re together every day, aren’t we?’

‘No, what I mean is…’ Song Lin pushed him back slightly to look more closely at him, both hands gripping his shoulders as he asked, ‘are you willing to be my lover?’

Dandan’s eyes widened suddenly. W-what on earth is this fellow saying?!


(Approx. 1343 words)

☆ Please show moral support by reading the original and free translations from hiding in plain sight. © 12 and theresanother.wordpress.com 2017. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of the above material without express and written permission from 12 is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to 12 and theresanother(DOT)wordpress(DOT)com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content. Example here.

©


 
 
 

Translated and edited by 12


Previous Chapter | Next Chapter

Browse all chapters| Glossary

2 thoughts on “The Godlike Jade Rabbit Chapter 54

  1. NGL, I half waited for this chapter to come out, just in case the last one ended on a cliffhanger. :’)

    Ugh, Troy. I just… small white dog Troy who only wanted a master of his own. Dandan is so right when he calls Troy a stupid spy, but I never wanted Troy to actually die. Omfg, my heart. ;O; A little too late, but Troy tried his best in his own way. I just can’t right now. Tears in my eyes from that stupid, stupid dog… ;;

    Song Lin and Dandan hug! If I wasn’t so heartbroken I’d be flailing around about it.

    NEVER MIND. SONG LIN STRAIGHT UP ASKING DANDAN TO BE HIS LOVER I CAN’T HELP IT. WHAT EMOTIONAL WHIPLASH I’M FEELING. OMFG OMFG.

    THANK YOU FOR THE UPDATES. <333

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ha, I thought it would be better to end with this betrayal arc mostly tied up since there’ll be a two-week pause.

      Same here, it’s hard not to feel bad for Troy 😢 in the end who got in over his head and didn’t find his way to shore in time…

      Now the big question is whether Dandan recognises his own feelings…

      Although it was such a close shave, at least it’s had an effect on Song Lin and he’s finally spoken… 😆

      Like

Leave a comment