The Godlike Jade Rabbit Chapter 74

A surprising proposal…

Note: PLEASE DO NOT link any translations on this site to anywhere on Novel Updates, whether it’s the updates list or reading lists.


© 12 and
theresanother.wordpress.com
2017 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of the translation without express and written permission from 12 is strictly prohibited.


 

Ch. 74 | A marital alliance

 
‘Aiyoh, my head’s swimming.’ The little rabbit rubbed his temples in a very exaggerated way. ‘Maybe it’s the residual effects of having evolved — my mind’s a blank now and I can’t remember anything.’

‘Oh, can’t remember anything, huh,’ Song Lin echoed before suddenly bending down, bracing both arms on either side of Dandan as he leaned in close to the latter’s face and asked softly, ‘Want me to help you recall it?’

‘Re-recall what…’ Dandan shrank back.

Song Lin said, ‘Somebody caught hold of my hand in front of the Priest’s Manor and declared that he liked me.’

Dandan’s heart pounded frantically and his eyes darted guiltily all round the room as he said, ‘Ah ha ha, really?’

‘Why yes. He even did something to me. Shall I demonstrate it to you?’

‘N-n-no… no need.’ Dandan repeatedly waved away this offer only to have his wrists caught by Song Lin who then flicked his forehead with a finger.

‘What? Trying to run away after flirting?’

‘I’m not.’ Dandan could feel the warmth of his hands coursing over but the more ardent Song Lin was, the more timid he became. ‘I’m afraid of messing things up.’

‘What do you mean?’

Dandan looked down, admitting, ‘I don’t have confidence.’

‘Is it me you don’t have confidence in, or our future together?’

‘…’ Dandan actually had a lot to say but didn’t know how to express himself just then.

Song Lin merely gazed at him silently.

The highly nervous Dandan clutched his blanket tightly, a thoroughly confused expression in his round eyes.

Song Lin suddenly felt a little sorry for Dandan. Really, Dandan had lived for too long, had been subjected to humans scheming against him, had suffered his pact owner’s abrupt demise, had endured centuries of loneliness and had been tortured by grief and thoughts of revenge day and night.

A very long period of his existence had revolved entirely around looking for Yu Huan yet right now, all that he had experienced had completely vanished like a fond dream. After Yu Huan’s killer had died at his hands, the motivation which had kept him going was gone just like that.

At this thought, Song Lin’s eyes dimmed.

Maybe what Dandan feels for me isn’t love and I’m just any port in a storm instead. After all, he’s all alone now and the only other connection he has to the world is our pact. Plus, I told him that I hope we can be together and given how kind he is, he can’t bear not to respond, so he’s treating this impulse as love and reciprocating my feelings with it.

Song Lin stroked Dandan’s head lightly. ‘I know you’re very confused right now. So how about this, I won’t force you. Give me your answer when you’ve thought things through.’

Dandan stared at him in bewilderment, not understanding why Song Lin would suddenly say something like that. He had a feeling that the latter had misunderstood something somehow.

The reason he was so hesitant was because he felt inferior: he had never been in a relationship and the deepest connection he had had to humans had been confined to the bond. He could risk life and limb¹ for his owner, but he didn’t know what he could do for his lover.

What if he couldn’t satisfy Song Lin as a lover — would he be disliked?

After Song Lin left and the door closed behind him, Dandan fell into a panic.

Oh no… is Song Lin angry?
What’s going on… everything’s still fouled up in the end…

The little rabbit buried his head under the blanket, at a loss as to what to do.

¹ 出生入死. If you’re not reading this chapter at hiding in plain sight, it has been stolen and reproduced by novelscraping sites.

After a few days, Song Fuyan returned to the manor. Everyone in the manor was greatly astonished because after the recent calamity, there was a lot of reconstruction that had to be done. He had to be especially busy as the head of the League, yet he had actually returned at such a critical time??? The kitchen cooks bustled around as they prepared a feast to welcome Eldest Master home.

At dinner, the three of them sat round the table. There should have been four, but Styx was still unconscious. Even so, a bowl and chopsticks had been set at his place.

There was a plate of roasted lamb legs in front of Dandan and he chomped his way through them without saying a word. His appetite had increased ever since he had evolved to godlike level and the kitchen servants had even joked that he would ‘eat the Songs out of house and home one day.’

Song Fuyan held his bowl and ate very leisurely.

‘How come you’re free to come home, Brother?’ Song Lin asked.

‘I’ll be moving back home for good.’

‘Why?’ Dandan and Song Lin put down their bowls at the same time, greatly surprised.

‘I’ve stepped down from my position at the League,’ Song Fuyan said blandly. ‘A new head will be elected tomorrow and I’ll move back home once I’ve handed over my work.’

Song Lin remarked, ‘You left me behind and went to head the League in order not to disappoint Father’s hopes for you. I thought that… you would never ever leave that place.’

‘It was just a matter of thinking things through.’ Song Fuyan’s eyes rested on Styx’s bowl and chopsticks. ‘I used to think that fulfilling Father’s last wish of making the Song clan flourish was the most important thing, but now I feel it’s more important to spend time with my family members.’

Song Lin coughed lightly. ‘By family members, do you mean me or Styx?’

‘…’ Song Fuyan glared at him. ‘Big mouth.’

Song Lin was silenced.

Dandan quipped, ‘Second Master’s jealous.’

Song Lin glared at him. ‘Big mouth.’

Dandan stuck out his tongue before lowering his head and continuing to eat.

‘There’s another matter as well,’ Song Fuyan said abruptly and in all seriousness. ‘Song Lin, you’re not exactly young, so I’m planning on arranging a marital alliance for you.’

Song Lin choked on a mouthful of soup in shock. ‘What?!’

Dandan blinked. ‘What do you mean by marital alliance?’

‘It means I’m going to find him a wife.’

Dandan dropped the roasted lamb leg he had been holding. ‘You’re going to find him a what?!!’

‘A wife,’ Song Fuyan replied composedly.

Song Lin was frowning. ‘Brother… I’m not… in a hurry right now.’

‘What do you mean not in a hurry? When Father was still alive, he had already told me that I mustn’t neglect this major event of your life.’

Dandan: ‘…’

Song Lin: ‘…’

‘So, what kind of girl do you like? List your criteria so that I can inform all of Ridge City that you’re looking for a bride.’ Song Fuyan seemed oblivious to their peculiar expressions as he continued, ‘The eldest daughter of the Bai clan, Bai Yini, is regarded as Ridge City’s most beautiful woman. She strikes me as being intelligent and reasonable², is proficient in the four arts and isn’t betrothed yet. I think she makes a rather good candidate.’

Song Lin was rubbing his temples but since this was the first meal that his older brother was having at home after such a long absence, he didn’t want to openly contradict him so he merely replied, ‘We’ll see how it goes.’

Looking at the two of them, Dandan forgot all about his roasted lamb legs. Actually, he also had no appetite left for dinner.

² 知書達理. Translation belongs to theresanother(DOT)wordpress(DOT)com.

Later that night, Song Fuyan was reading in his bedroom when he heard a movement at the window and said coldly, ‘Come out.’

After a while, Dandan came out, dragging his feet in the process.

‘Something the matter?’ Song Fuyan asked in his characteristically dignified way.

‘Ahem, I just want to know why you suddenly want to find Song Lin a wife?’

Song Fuyan glanced at him indifferently before replying, ‘Because it’s time to hand the Song clan over to him.’

‘Eh?’ Dandan was shocked. ‘You mean you’re going to retire?’

Song Fuyan nodded. ‘Styx and I can’t possibly look after him all his life. After I’m gone, someone else will have to do it.’

Dandan hurriedly raised his hand. ‘Me, me, me, I can look after him!’

‘You?’ Song Fuyan snorted disdainfully. ‘What can you do?’

‘I…’ Dandan was perplexed by this question.

‘Can you wash the clothes, cook or keep house?’

‘I… I can protect him so he’ll never come to harm.’

‘You can only protect him outside. Once at home, behind closed doors, can you give him the warm and tender home a virtuous wife ought to provide?’

‘… But… that may not be what Song Lin wants…’

‘Don’t be silly, which man wouldn’t like a gentle and understanding woman?’ Song Fuyan gave a brief wave of his hand. ‘I’m tired, so go away now.’

‘…’ Seeing that he wasn’t in the mood for further talk, Dandan silently went out of the room.

Dandan couldn’t sleep that night so he went to Phantom’s shop.

Phantom’s shop had been completely renovated. The atmosphere was as risqué as ever and there was even romantic music playing in the background.

‘How come you’re so free to visit me, brat?’ The flirtatious proprietor was currently leaning against the counter as he reconciled his accounts.

Dandan sat down on one of the seats.

‘I’m parched. What drinks do you have?’

‘A crate of “Intense Passion” was just delivered today. Do you need some?’

‘What’s that?’

‘It’s an… aphrodisiac.’ Phantom winked coyly at Dandan.

‘… Nope, no thanks,’ Dandan refused flatly.

Seeing his dejected expression, Phantom put down his ledger and went over. ‘What’s the matter?’

‘Erm… have you ever been in love?’

‘Why yes, I’ve been in love with lots of female flood dragons. We did it in the rosy clouds as well as in purple fields of flowers; the most exciting was that one time in a typhoon…’

‘Stop!!’ Dandan said, his head aching. ‘I wasn’t asking about this!!!’

‘Oh come on, I haven’t even gone into the details yet.’

‘Who wants to hear the details?!!’ The rabbit protested heatedly.

‘Eh? I thought you might be interested.’ Phantom gave a regretful sigh. ‘Then, what do you want to ask about?’

‘I like someone, but I’m not sure if I can satisfy that someone if we were to get together. I don’t have any experience, so I don’t know how to make that person happy. I’m scared I won’t live up to that person’s expectations.’

Phantom listened to all this and then snorted with laughter. ‘How silly you are. The most important thing when you’re in love is to follow your own heart rather than racking your brains about how to please the other party. You’re so cute, who wouldn’t like you?’

‘But… I heard that all men like a gentle and understanding woman, but I’m neither gentle nor understanding. His brother wants to arrange for him to get married and he didn’t even object…’

‘Wait a minute!! Men?’ Phantom blinked and then asked, ‘Don’t tell me you’re talking about Second Master Son-…’

Before he could finish speaking, Dandan had already muffled Phantom’s mouth and was telling him, ‘Stop trying to guess who it is.’

‘Mmph!! Then let go of me first!!’ The poor proprietor was almost suffocated by the unarmed godlike spirit beast.

Dandan let go of him.

Phantom massaged his own face. ‘Dandan, you probably love that person too much which is why you’ve lost confidence in yourself.’

Dandan gazed at him, perplexed. ‘Really?’

‘You should be a bit braver and have a good chat with him. If it works out, good, but if it doesn’t, then forget it.’

Dandan felt that he had a point. ‘So how should I go about it?’

‘First, you have to tell him how you feel about him.’

‘I already did that.’

‘How did you tell him?’

‘I just told him that I liked him.’

‘And then?’

‘And then? And then I pushed him out of the way.’

‘… That was not romantic enough!!!’

‘What would be romantic?’

Phantom considered it before saying, ‘If you have flowers, wine and a beauty, that would be romantic.’

‘Where am I to get any of those things?’

‘You now have the ability to freely manipulate the natural world, so getting flowers is a breeze. I’ll provide the wine and as for the beauty, that’s you, of course. Just dress a bit more sexily when the time comes and knock him dead.’

Dandan kept shaking his head. ‘No, no, no, something tells me that this is a bad idea.’

‘Yes, yes, yes, something tells me that this is definitely a good idea!’ Phantom pulled him over to the shop window. ‘I have the latest sex toys here: leather-tonged whips, candles… and more. I’ll let you have whatever you want for free.’

‘No need, no need.’

‘Do you want to woo back your love interest or not?! If you still refuse to do anything, then be prepared to watch him settle down and start a family with a woman.’

‘…’ This last sentence succeeded in snapping the last string of rational thought Dandan had. He gritted his teeth and pointed at a chest of products, saying, ‘Give me an entire set!’

‘Wonderful,’ Phantom was all smiles. ‘I also have a rare bottle of vintage wine here which I’ll throw in as well.’

‘Okay, thank you.’

³ 眉開眼笑. Please consider reading from theresanother(DOT)wordpress(DOT)com rather than from novelscraping sites.

After Dandan had left with a bag full of assorted products, Phantom leaned on the counter as he took stock of his goods. It was then that he suddenly discovered to his shock that the rare bottle of vintage wine was still with him. ‘Then what was that bottle I gave him?’ Phantom stood thinking for a long time before he finally slapped his forehead, ‘Shoot, I gave him a bottle of “Intense Passion” instead!!’

The youthful proprietor’s heart skipped a beat.

Dandan… you’re on your own… so, good luck…


(Approx. 2313 words)

☆ Please show moral support by reading the original and free translations from hiding in plain sight. © 12 and theresanother.wordpress.com 2017. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of the above material without express and written permission from 12 is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to 12 and theresanother(DOT)wordpress(DOT)com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content. Example here.

©


 
 
 

Translated and edited by 12


Previous Chapter | Next Chapter

Browse all chapters| Glossary

4 thoughts on “The Godlike Jade Rabbit Chapter 74

  1. DANDAN WHO ARE YOU TRYING TO FOOL.

    Also, thank you Song Lin, for realizing a little of what Dandan is going through because he can seem like a dumb rabbit (and he is!), but he’s been through so much. ;; But also, don’t think so much, you idiot. I’m crying, of course they would end up like this. Why would the author give me the emotional validation I’m craving.

    I am sooo glad Song Fuyan is going to spend more time with his family members and Styx. 8| Styx really doesn’t deserve an absent master, no matter what important matters Song Fuyan is going over. BUT REALLY SONG FUYAN. FINDING SONG LIN A WIFE??? Also, casually dismissing Dandan like that???? I really wanted to hit him.

    Aaaa, I really like Dandan and Phantom interacting with one another. It’s really cute and funny. 😀 Also, Dandan, you’re the opposite of sneaky. I started laughing over Phantom’s ‘advice’ and how Dandan just gets suckered into it so easily. AND OF COURSE HE WAS GIVEN THE APHRODISIAC. IM CRYING.

    I actually save reading all your translations until when I can actually properly sit down and write out a reply to it (even if the reply is all over the place), which sometimes means that like two weeks go by before I finally read an update. :’) Sorry sorry. Thank you so much for your hard work!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. 🤣😄 Just a little hiccup!

      Song Fuyan hasn’t any interest in getting married himself, so he’s going to make his younger brother continue the line instead. 😏

      Phantom is a scream. 🤣 Too bad he doesn’t appear more often.

      No worries and certainly no need for apologies, really 😘! My updates are more irregular than I’d like nowadays anyway, so it’s not surprising if readers prefer to stockpile some chapters, especially with this last arc. And everyone’s busy as well so it’s all good! ♥️Super🤍 appreciate all your comments and I don’t mind whether they come in all at once or regularly since it’s always fun to read them❣️ Love how engaged you are with the story which your comments reflect! 🧡💙💜💛🧸

      Like

      1. Song Fuyan is obviously just trying to pass on his own responsibilities. >.>

        <333 I really like the story, even if sometimes I’m like “Really. Really?” XD It’s a nice blend of humor and seriousness, and it definitely helps that I like the characters quite a bit.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. 🥰 Agree, (presumably) she’s got a great balance of humour and angst. A lot of stories I’ve read are funny but don’t pack the same emotional punches as some chapters of TGJR do; or else they’re just serious all the way without any humour. I think it helps a lot that she kept it to a decent length overall and usually ties up loose ends pretty quickly. Mystery and suspense are great but not when they’re spun out for too long…

          Like

Leave a comment