The Godlike Jade Rabbit Chapter 46.1

The start of a surprisingly long chapter by this novel’s standards.

Dandan and that mouth of his 😆…

Note: PLEASE DO NOT link any translations on this site to anywhere on Novel Updates, whether it’s the updates list or reading lists.


© 12 and
theresanother.wordpress.com
2017 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of the translation without express and written permission from 12 is strictly prohibited.


 

Ch. 46.1 | The Trinity

 
When Styx returned to the Song Manor, the sentry handed him an invitation. The character Bai was printed in large gilt lettering on the card and one touch was enough to know that the paper was of the best quality. He opened it and found that it had actually been sent by Bai Yini inviting Second Master Song to a performance of Chinese opera at the Yuanlin Guild Hall.

Yuanlin Guild Hall was Ridge City’s largest opera house and home to many famous opera performers whose shows were usually sold out.

This Bai Yini had waited until after the opponents had been announced to invite Second Master — she obviously had an ulterior motive¹.

Styx showed Song Lin the invitation who remarked, ‘I haven’t seen her in years yet all of a sudden she remembers my existence and invites me to the opera? I’m afraid Miss Bai is not so much asking me out as trying to find out all she can about me.’

‘Shall I decline it for you?’

‘No need.’ Song Lin closed the invitation card. ‘As it happens, I’m also curious to see what this most mysterious Eldest Miss Bai has up her sleeve. Tell the driver to get ready and we can leave after that.’

‘Understood.’

¹ 別有用心 biéyǒu-yòngxīn. If you’re not reading this chapter at hiding in plain sight, it has been stolen and reproduced by novelscraping sites.

After Styx went out of the room, he went to tell the driver to get ready before going back to his room where he took out a piece of paper from his writing table, preparing to write a letter to Eldest Master to inform him about recent events.

All activities had to be reported to Eldest Master. That was the mission Song Fuyan had given him. Just for an instant, he really felt like writing a little about how he felt: for example, that sense of oppression tightening his chest when he saw Nox’s wretched expression. But, he couldn’t. His correspondence with Eldest Master could only be about official business. Eldest Master would not be interested in such superfluous drivel.

Styx smoothed the paper with his fingers and murmured to himself, ‘Sometimes, I wish we could talk about other things.’

After Dandan had eaten his fill in the kitchen, he came back out and saw Troy entering through the door.

‘Troy! Where did you go? I haven’t seen you the whole day.’

‘I went to Dragon Ridge,’ Troy explained. ‘I saw that the fruits in your cave were rotten the last time so I brought you some fresh ones, but you weren’t there.’ He held up the bag he was holding which was filled with fresh apples.

‘Gee, thanks.’ Dandan scratched his head.

Troy walked over to him. ‘How come you’re back? Have you and Second Master made up?’

‘Umm… not exactly made up… but we will soon.’ Dandan scuffed his foot on the floor a few times.

‘Really? That’s great. Tell me quickly what happened between the two of you.’

‘… Of course it was Song Lin who begged me to come back,’ Dandan launched into his fantasy. ‘He kept pulling at me, telling me meekly² how much he regretted it, apologising non-stop; saying that he absolutely couldn’t do without me, that he shouldn’t have lost his temper with me and hoped I would give him a chance. Being the soft-hearted type, I gave in.’

‘…’ By the third word, Troy’s expression had already changed and he did not utter a single word throughout, only staring unblinkingly at something behind Dandan.

² 低聲下氣 dīshēng-xiàqì. Translation belongs to theresanother(DOT)wordpress(DOT)com.

‘What’s the matter, why aren’t you saying anything?’

‘That…’ Troy pointed at something behind him and when Dandan turned round, he saw two people standing there: Song Lin leaning against the wall with arms folded and Styx beside him, looking at Dandan as though he were the biggest joke.

Dandan: … S—t…
He pretended to be calm and asked Song Lin, ‘When did you get here?’

‘Not too long ago.’ Song Lin’s expression was very neutral and it was hard to tell if he had heard anything or not.

‘R-really…’ Dandan turned round guiltily, trying to pretend as if nothing had happened and changed the subject, asking, ‘Troy brought back some fruits, would you like some? I’ll just give them a wash in the kitchen.’

He took the bag of fruits from Troy and as he passed by Song Lin, made a special effort to flatter him. ‘Second Master, you’re really dashing today. Your leather shoes are shiny, your tie is cool, your Western suit is very nice, your face is also very nice. No wonder you’re Prince Charming to the tens of thousands of young girls in Ridge City.’

Then he tried to sidle away.

Song Lin held him back, planting a hand on his shoulder. ‘Thanks for the compliments. Who did you say meekly begged your forgiveness? Who kept apologising non-stop? Who hoped he would be given another chance?’

‘…’ Dandan seemed to have turned to stone and it was a very long time before he replied, ‘… Who?’

‘It’s amnesia this time?’ Song Lin narrowed his eyes dangerously and gave Dandan’s cheek a warning pat. ‘Didn’t you have a lot to say for yourself just now?’

‘I remember now.’ Dandan removed his hand quietly. ‘It was me, it was me.’

It was then that he noticed Song Lin’s smart appearance — surely he wasn’t going out? While thinking this, he was already asking, ‘You’re going out?’

‘Mm hm.’

‘Where to?’

‘You want to know that as well?’

‘I have to protect you. What if something happens to you?’

Seeing his sternly righteous³ demeanour, Song Lin showed him the invitation card.

‘Bai Yini? Inviting you to the opera?’ Dandan frowned. ‘She waits until a critical time like this to invite you to the opera? She’s definitely out to trap you. I’m coming with you.’

‘You’re staying at home,’ Song Lin said instead.

Styx, listening to this, was also puzzled and came up to persuade him. ‘Second Master, having Dandan go with you would be safer.’

Song Lin gazed at Dandan for some time. ‘You’ll stay at home and you’re not to go out without my permission.’

Then he left, taking Styx with him.

³ 大義凜然 dàyì-lǐnrán. Please consider reading from hiding in plain sight rather than from novelscraping sites.

Dandan stared resentfully after their departing figures as Troy wondered, ‘Didn’t Second Master used to take you along with him when he went out? What’s wrong with him today?’

Dandan snorted coldly. ‘Doesn’t want to take me along when he’s going to meet a pretty woman.’

Troy thought for a moment. ‘Why don’t we follow them secretly?’

‘Better not. He already told me I’m not to go out without his permission. I just returned so I had better behave otherwise he’ll be mad at me again.’

‘Aren’t you worried that something might happen to Second Master? Didn’t you say there must be a trap if she’s inviting him out at this critical moment?’ Troy added, ‘Even if he finds out, you’re only following him out of concern so I believe Second Master won’t be angry.’

Dandan thought about it and then looked down. ‘Nah, I’ll stay at home… This time, I’m going to be more obedient.’

‘…’ Troy was quite surprised. ‘Well, how about this instead? I’ll help you take a look and if there are any unforeseen events, I’ll come back and let you know.’

Troy turned away and started heading outside but Dandan hailed him.

‘Hey! … I’ll just come with you. If there’s any danger, you won’t be able to handle it alone any way.’

‘Okay, it’s for the best.’


(Approx. 1232 words)

☆ Please show moral support by reading the original and free translations from hiding in plain sight. © 12 and theresanother.wordpress.com 2017. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of the above material without express and written permission from 12 is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to 12 and theresanother(DOT)wordpress(DOT)com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content. Example here.

©


 
 
 

Translated and edited by 12


Previous Chapter | Next Chapter

Browse all chapters| Glossary

2 thoughts on “The Godlike Jade Rabbit Chapter 46.1

  1. Omg, I usually don’t think much about other pairings other than the main pair, but I low key ship Styx and Song Fuyan. Maybe because it’s just quietly there and nothing is going on, so I mostly feel bad for Styx HAHA.

    SCREECHING, I knew when Dandan was spouting off Song Lin was right behind him! CLASSIC FOR A REASON!!

    Not sure how I feel about Dandan following Song Lin. ;; I mean, you just… sorta… made up, Dandan! Try to be good for at least 24 hours before you go off a hare brained scheme! Troy just egging him on is also… hm… Don’t be a bad dog, Troy! I’ve been rooting for you this entire time! Rooting for what, I’m not sure, but I’ve been yelling about how good a dog you are, don’t betray me!!!!!!!

    Thanks for the update!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha! It’s always funny when that happens 😆

      Dandan was so close to toeing the line… Both of them need obedience training! 😆

      Song Fuyan is married to his work and then there’s family and Song Lin to worry about. Styx is probably the last person he worries about…

      You’re welcome, as always!

      Like

Leave a comment