The Godlike Jade Rabbit Chapter 47

‘Supposing I die…’ Dandan thought for a moment then answered with a laugh, ‘then it’s just too bad for me.’

Note: PLEASE DO NOT link any translations on this site to anywhere on Novel Updates, whether it’s the updates list or reading lists.


© 12 and
theresanother.wordpress.com
2017 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of the translation without express and written permission from 12 is strictly prohibited.


 

Ch. 47 | The Tribe of Jade Rabbits

 
After his talk with Styx, Dandan went up to the peak of Dragon Ridge. It was where Yu Huan had died, where that inferno had caused him to meet his end.

He had never come up here again, or to be more precise, he had not dared to for fear of being reminded of that nightmare if he did.

Before dying, Yu Huan had said to him, ‘This time, I’m going very far away for a very long time and I can’t take you with me. You’ll be alone but please look after yourself well.’

Dandan slowly climbed up to the peak where there was a very small, simple and crude tombstone that he had made. He had never seen any tombstone before and had not known what to write on it even. In the end, he had written: Grave of the strange green-eyed one.

He was wholly unable to sum up Yu Huan’s life. Grave of the strongest Guardian?? No, Yu Huan would not have liked such a title otherwise he wouldn’t have brought his three spirit beasts with him to Dragon Ridge to lead a free and unrestrained life¹. As for why he had finally written what he had, it was because the only thing he remembered from his first meeting with Yu Huan was his pair of jade-green eyes.

¹ 閒雲野鶴. If you’re not reading this chapter at hiding in plain sight, it has been stolen and reproduced by novelscraping sites.

‘Sorry I haven’t visited you for so long,’ Dandan leaned against the tombstone after sitting down and began playing with a weed which he had just plucked. There had been nothing left of Yu Huan after he died so nothing was actually buried under this tombstone.

He blew some dust off the tombstone.

‘For better or for worse, you were the grand Arch-Guardian so how could you die in such a desolate place? If I hadn’t come, there wouldn’t even be anyone to sweep your grave,’ Dandan said to the air.

Of course, there was no reply.

He leaned his head on the tombstone. ‘I had actually decided never to come here again as long as I lived. But there’s something I have to tell you, so here I am. Do you know? Now, I have someone whom I want to protect again. His name is Song Lin, he’s got blue eyes, quite a bad temper but he treats me really well. He’s a lot like you in some ways: he likes furry white animals, likes to tease me… but he’s also very different from you. For example, in looks, personality, the way he handles people and things and so on… He’s the Young Master of the House of Song and practically drips nobility from every pore. Of course, I’m not saying that you’re not noble, you know what I mean — ’cos you’re an itinerant Guardian, not that I’m saying itinerant Guardians aren’t good; you’re the most noble of all the itinerant Guardians.’ After saying that, he patted the tombstone in a consoling manner.

‘Weren’t you worried that I wouldn’t look after myself well after you had gone? Now… you don’t have to worry.’

Dandan got up, went in front of the tombstone, knelt and kowtowed once.

‘Master, I never once called you that when you were alive. I thought that I would never ever lose you because you were so powerful, I thought that we could be together forever… so I never properly cherished the time I had with you. Now, I…’ Dandan’s ten fingers dug tightly into the ground, trembling, ‘now I really regret it…’

If you were looking at him from the back, you would see a thin, helpless figure huddled there and shaking with pain.

It took him a very, very long time to calm down after which he drew a shuddering breath. ‘Hey, Yu Huan, if you’re watching me right now, please don’t laugh at me. You know as well that we aren’t actually suited to such affectionate displays. I’m going to start leading a new life soon but you’ll always have the most important place in my heart. Goodbye. This time, it really is goodbye.’

He turned and left, leaving the tombstone behind him. At that moment, a passing breeze stirred the grass and flowers beside the tombstone.

When he got back to the Song Manor, it was already late and he happened to bump into Song Lin who asked him coldly, ‘Where did you go?’

‘I just went to say goodbye to an old friend.’ Dandan shrugged and added, ‘Perfect timing, I have something to tell all of you.’

Song Lin looked at him strangely. ‘Old friend? You mean you have another friend besides Bi An in Ridge City?’

While walking towards the main hall, Dandan said, ‘I actually have many friends, except that I don’t keep in touch with them.’

Hearing such a response, Song Lin did not pursue the matter. He then noticed the Qingling pendant hanging round his neck. His eyelids twitched and he stuck his hands in his pockets, commenting softly, ‘Styx is always so presumptuous.’

Dandan knew what he was referring to and stroked the pendant, saying, ‘Feels really good in every sense of the word when you regain something which was lost.’

‘Besides this, what else have you lost and regained?’ asked Song Lin.

Dandan stopped and turned round.

Song Lin was not expecting him to do that and didn’t stop himself in time so the two of them found themselves physically touching.

Dandan stood on tiptoe and hugged Song Lin. ‘Shan’t tell you, except that it feels really good.’

Song Lin stared blankly for a moment then pushed him away. ‘Mm, got it.’ Then he went around him and entered the main hall first.

Styx and Troy happened to have witnessed the entire scene and they both tsked-tsked as they shook their heads.

‘Young Master is feeling shy?’

‘Yep, most definitely shy.’

‘I heard that,’ Song Lin’s arctic tones floated over so the two of them hastily shut up.

When the other three were also in the hall, Dandan sat cross-legged on a stool, cracking melon seeds as he said, ‘Ahem, everyone seems to have been rather unhappy lately because of me. I got everyone here today because I wanted to come clean about some matters and then discuss some strategies to deal with the situation after that. Actually, it’s not really a secret any more: I was Yu Huan’s bonded spirit beast when he was alive but after his death, this pact ended naturally. Yu Huan had three spirit beasts altogether: me, a taotie called Scythe and a flood dragon called Phantom. These two clowns… umm, they’re not very bright so I won’t waste any more time on them.’ Dandan unblushingly² blackened the names of his erstwhile brothers.

‘I’ll talk about the important points. Yu Huan died in an inferno on Dragon Ridge and in that big battle, I expended too much of my physical strength. When I was at my weakest, they stole over two thirds of my spiritual power. I had no spiritual power and the League had me on their wanted list so I had to conceal my identity all these years… I wasn’t lying to you on purpose…’

² 一本正經. Translation belongs to theresanother(DOT)wordpress(DOT)com.

‘Who stole your spiritual power?’ Song Lin asked.

‘The Crone.’

‘The Crone?’ Song Lin and Styx exchanged glances: this was a name they had both heard of. ‘It looks like Chen Yang, the House of Bai and the Crone are all in cahoots.’

‘I don’t know what connection the Crone has to Chen Yang and the Bai clan. All I know is that that old hag still can’t forget about me even though it’s been a hundred years,’ Dandan said through tightly gritted teeth.

‘Is she secretly in love with you?’ asked Troy.

Dandan shuddered, gooseflesh prickling all over his body. ‘Have mercy on me.’

‘Then why does she want to catch you?’

‘She wants to do an experiment.’

‘Do an experiment?’

‘Yes.’ Dandan put down the roasted melon seeds he was holding, his expression becoming grave. ‘The calibre of a spirit beast is determined by the size of its heart receptacle at birth. Those beasts who have not realised their spiritual power yet are generally considered to be at the Chrysalis stage. After their spiritual powers begin to evolve, the different calibres are Bronze, Silver, Supreme, and Godlike. A beast of lower calibre can never beat one of higher calibre in a fight because even with continuous cultivation of spiritual power, the most you can do is to completely fill your heart, but since it can’t contain more than that, then naturally a heart with a small capacity can’t beat a bigger one. Later on, some demented Guardians filled the heart receptacles of their own spirit beasts beyond the natural limits, hoping to force them into evolving. Of course, the only outcome that resulted was the heart of the spirit beast exploding and it dying.’

‘So no one has ever succeeded?’ Troy asked.

‘One did,’ Dandan answered breezily. ‘My father.’

The other three were quite astonished by this answer.

Dandan continued, ‘I don’t know if it can be considered an innate gift, but the Jade Rabbit Tribe possesses heart receptacles that have always been able to tolerate a certain degree of expansion. In a life-and-death battle³ with a powerful foe, we can use a certain method which is to temporarily absorb more spiritual power than our heart receptacles can originally contain. This will increase our strength temporarily but it cannot be sustained for too long, or else the strain will be too much for the heart and we’ll die as well. Because of this natural talent, jade rabbits were a target of capture by Guardians for thousands of years but forcing an evolution always resulted in one outcome — they all died. Only my father succeeded — he evolved from Silver to Supreme… but his reconstructed heart was not able to hold out for very long and he also perished a month later.’

Song Lin noticed that when talking about this matter, Dandan’s tone was very indifferent which made him frown unconsciously.

³ 背水一戰. Please consider reading from hiding in plain sight rather than from novelscraping sites.

Styx said, ‘So the Crone thinks that being your father’s son, you can also evolve successfully?’

‘Probably.’

‘Now I understand why Bai Yini was willing to trade the title of Arch-Guardian for you. Your calibre is Supreme and if you’re able to evolve, you would become Godlike.’

Troy asked, ‘What kind of a spirit beast is a Godlike one?’

‘Let’s put it this way, a Godlike spirit beast can defeat the Five Great Houses.’

Troy was left speechless and stupefied.

‘But the very troublesome thing now is that our opponent has a Supreme-calibre lu-shu which can manipulate time,’ Styx mused. ‘A spirit beast of the same calibre will find it very difficult to beat him, unless it’s of a higher calibre.’

Troy scratched his head and wondered, ‘Higher than Supreme, isn’t that Godlike?’

‘All right, let’s call it a night since it’s late,’ Song Lin suddenly interrupted them. ‘Dandan, let’s go back to the room.’

Dandan followed him back to the bedroom and once the door was closed, said, ‘I know why you cut Styx off. Actually, I already resolved a long time ago to do what he was thinking. For your sake, I can try evolving, maybe I can succeed…’

‘Supposing you die?’ asked Song Lin.

‘Supposing I die…’ Dandan thought for a moment then answered with a laugh, ‘then it’s just too bad for me.’

Song Lin gazed at him and said at last, ‘You…’After saying that, he didn’t finish what he wanted to say. Actually, what he really wanted to ask was — why bother going to that extent for me when the only one in your heart is Yu Huan?

After thinking it over, he didn’t ask anything. The haughty Second Master Song would not permit himself to ask such a stupid question.
Such a question was no different from asking: ‘Who’s more important, your ex-owner or me?’ which would make him appear affected and coy. Second Master Song secretly despised himself in that moment.

Dandan was walking in front of him and the moonlight fell over his figure in a beautifully muted glow. Both his ears twitched slightly, rather inviting one to stroke them.

Song Lin, looking at him from the back, slipped into a slightly indefinable mood.


(Approx. 2043 words)

12’s notes:
Edited on 29th April 2020.

☆ Please show moral support by reading the original and free translations from hiding in plain sight. © 12 and theresanother.wordpress.com 2017. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of the above material without express and written permission from 12 is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to 12 and theresanother(DOT)wordpress(DOT)com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content. Example here.

©


 
 
 

Translated and edited by 12


Previous Chapter | Next Chapter

Browse all chapters| Glossary

2 thoughts on “The Godlike Jade Rabbit Chapter 47

  1. Those last words, man. STUPID YU HUAN. ;O; I’m not crying!!!!! It’s just some dust!!! Dandan really, really cared for the man, even if he wasn’t in love, even if the guy had two other spirit beasts. I mean, the guy did play such a large part of Dandan’s life. ;~~; Picked up the lonely Dandan… gave him a home…

    G-give me a moment.

    I love, love, LOVE Dandan saying how he wants to protect Song Lin, and detailing how different he is from Yu Huan. He fully acknowledges that they are different people, despite whatever similarities they may have.

    “I thought that I would never ever lose you because you were so powerful, I thought that we could be together forever…” RIP ME. RIP ME!!!!!!

    DANDAN GOING ON WITH HIS LIFE. NOT GOING TO BE THE MOPEY RABBIT ON A HILL WAITING FOREVER FOR A DEAD MAN. EXCUSE ME. EXCUSE ME SONG LIN YOU BETTER TAKE CARE OF MY PRECIOUS RABBIT OR ELSE I WILL RIP OUT YOUR SPLEEN. ;O;!!!!!

    Hug. Hug is good. Styx and Troy commentary is even BETTER haha!

    This is getting really long and even more disjointed than usual (SORRY SORRY), but god, I love this chapter. Dandan coming out with some personal information (and then calling the other two spirit beasts clowns)! Him finally letting go of Yu Huan! Us finally getting a name to whoever stole his powers! Getting an explanation about why they want Dandan so much!

    Dandan saying he’s willing to try to evolve for Song Lin though… when Dandan commits, he REALLY commits. Good rabbit!!!!!!! Best rabbit!!!! Song Lin is an idiot!!!!! Though… nice mood at the end… 8)

    THANKS SO MUCH. I really enjoyed this chapter!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ahhaha, I had the same wet-eyed reaction when I first read the chapter, especially when he cried (〒﹏〒). And Yu Huan’s tender ‘please look after yourself well.’

      Yep, at last we get a look at the people after Dandan. Mm, they’re a handful, that’s for sure. ರ_ರ But at least Song Lin and Styx aren’t completely in the dark now.

      (≧▽≦) the way he dismissed the other two spirit beasts — Dandan, they’re the same calibre as you LOL!

      Thanks for the long and (perfectly coherent 😆) lovely comment. I always enjoy reading your reactions! Had a good laugh at your threatening Song Lin 🤣 He’d probably go ‘tch’ at your threat though haha!

      Like

Leave a comment