The Godlike Jade Rabbit Chapter 46.4

‘If you’re going to cause an unnecessary catastrophe for Young Master or the House of Song, I’ll kill you before that danger can materialise.’
⊙﹏⊙

Note: PLEASE DO NOT link any translations on this site to anywhere on Novel Updates, whether it’s the updates list or reading lists.


© 12 and
theresanother.wordpress.com
2017 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of the translation without express and written permission from 12 is strictly prohibited.


 

Ch. 46.4

 
As Song Lin and Styx walked out of the guild hall, the latter said rather worriedly, ‘I’m afraid this Bai Yini spells trouble.’

Song Lin nodded his agreement. ‘Not to mention that she and Chen Yang are most likely in this together.’ After a moment’s pause, he asked, ‘What do you know about the lu-shu?’

‘Some days ago, Eldest Master had me tidy up Old Master’s depository and there happened to be a report on the lu-shu tribe. Although brief, it was obvious that this is a tribe with a powerful innate talent.’

‘Tribe with an innate talent?’

‘The record noted that they have a real affinity for the natural world, and after a long time can cultivate the power to control any natural thing. The ability to manipulate time that Bai Yini mentioned is hypothetically possible… except that I don’t know to what extent what she said is actually possible. If there’s a chance, I would certainly like to take a look at this spirit beast of hers.’

‘You’ve already seen him. Actually, her spirit beast was also there just now,’ Song Lin remarked.

‘Who was it?’ Styx asked.

‘The little servant who showed us the way up. He was clean and neatly dressed and the tablecloth he was carrying was brand-new. Also, the mandarin jacket that he had on was made from the silks and satins the Bai Manor produces. That’s too expensive for a mere servant whose job is to pour tea.’

Styx nodded. ‘Bai Yini certainly didn’t come alone to see you. She had made every possible preparation.’

Song Lin laughed grimly. ‘I don’t know what’s going on lately. One after another eyeing Dandan; my rabbit is in great demand.’

He had just said this when the undergrowth beside them rustled and a pair of long fluffy ears flitted past.

Styx was astonished. ‘Isn’t that…?’

Song Lin sighed. ‘Come out!’

In the undergrowth, Dandan and Troy shivered and clutched each other. No way, no way! We’ll get a shelling if we do!

Song Lin warned them, ‘I’m counting to three.’

Not coming out even if you count to three hundred!

When there was no response, Song Lin began saying an incantation and Dandan felt a flare of heat inside his own chest.

Hell’s bells…
Not…
This method again???

In the twinkling of an eye, a long red sword emerged from Dandan’s chest. He tried hurriedly to grab the hilt but the sword flew upwards in a straight line, taking Dandan along with it. Troy reached out to grab him with the result that both came flying out of the undergrowth and landed in a heap at Song Lin’s feet.

Dandan rested for a while, hugging the Blood Weapon, then pointed at Song Lin’s nose and roared, ‘Will you stop doing this every time??!!’

Song Lin asked, ‘Why? What’s wrong with this method?’

‘You try putting a bloody sword in your chest and having it come in and out, in and out, in and out; see if it hurts! Ah? You think it doesn’t hurt??!!’

Styx covered his mouth with his sleeve and laughed into it.

‘Didn’t I tell you to stay put at home? Why did you follow me out?’

‘Who says I was following you? Troy and I just came out for a walk. Right?’

He nudged Troy in the chest who immediately nodded, saying, ‘I was the one who asked Brother Dandan to come out for a walk with me.’

‘You two are certainly very free,’ Song Lin observed coldly.

‘Why? Did we get in your way on your date with Bai Yini?’

Song Lin quirked an eyebrow. ‘No, you didn’t.’

… So it really was a date? Dandan gritted his teeth slightly.

‘By the way, just to let you know, Miss Bai and I have agreed a deal.’ Song Lin began walking to the car as he said this.

‘Deal??’ Dandan hurried after him. ‘What deal?’

‘I sold something which was most valuable.’

Dandan thought for a moment and then looked him up and down. ‘Your virginity?’

Song Lin: ‘…’

Styx: ‘…’

Seeing their stiff expressions, Dandan could only laugh at himself and say, ‘Not your virginity, huh? Th-then, what did you sell?’

‘You.’

‘… Huh?’

‘I sold you off,’ Song Lin said and then got into the car. Styx also got into the passenger seat. Both of them looked ready to leave without a second thought for those left behind.

‘…’ Dandan stared nonplussed for a few seconds before running over and hammering on the car window. ‘Hey, hey, did you really sell me off?’

‘Yup,’ Song Lin gave a nod and the driver immediately started the car.

‘Wait! What do you mean! I just came back, how could you sell me off? Also, aren’t you going to give Troy and me a ride home?’

‘Aren’t the two of you bored silly? Since you’re bored, go for another walk before going home.’

‘I… I want to ride in the car!’

The car was driven away without any hesitation. Dandan was left talking to air.

Troy said, ‘Let’s go home quickly.’

‘Shan’t. That Song fellow sold me off, what’s the point of going back? To help him count his money?’ Dandan muttered sullenly.

‘Of course Second Master did no such thing. If he had really sold you off, he would have tied you up and taken you to see Miss Bai just now. Whatever the case, let’s just go home first and then see what happens.’

‘… Well, all right.’

All the way home, Dandan brooded over¹ that statement ‘I sold you off’.

He kicked at a pebble with his foot, looked up and happened to see Styx passing by so he dragged him over. ‘Ol’ Fish Eyes, let me ask you something.’

Having been dragged away abruptly, Styx was not in the best of moods and asked frostily, ‘What is it?’

‘Did Song Lin really sell me off?’ Dandan asked anxiously and immediately added, ‘How much did he sell me for?’

Styx looked at him like he was an idiot.

‘I’m worth a lot so you had better not have sold me at a loss.’ Dandan pointed at himself, declaring, ‘I’m the Jade Rabbit of Dragon Ridge, Yu Huan’s former bonded spirit beast and the bounty the League is offering for my capture is a five-figure sum in silver dollars!’

Styx was silent for a long time before sighing and saying, ‘Come to my room for a while.’

Dandan was a bit baffled and hugged his chest protectively as he asked, ‘Go to your room? What are you going to do?’

‘I’m not going to do anything,’ Styx suppressed the urge to roll his eyes. ‘I have something to tell you.’

‘… Oh,’ Dandan said and followed him.

¹ 耿耿於懷 gěnggěngyúhuái. If you’re not reading this chapter at hiding in plain sight, it has been stolen and reproduced by novelscraping sites.

Styx closed the door and sat down in front of his desk saying, ‘What I’m going to tell you next are my own guesses based on my understanding of Young Master after more than ten years of having assisted him. What I’m about to say, you’ll never ever hear from Second Master himself. Although it’s not an absolute certainty, it’s probably very close to the truth².’

‘What do you mean? Why are you speaking in riddles, Ol’ Fish Eyes?’

‘Second Master has never taken such a strong liking to any spirit beast. You’re the sole exception.’

‘Me?’ Dandan wondered why he didn’t feel very much like the exception.

‘The scar on his neck was caused by the bite of the Vampire Beast, wasn’t it? I wasn’t at the scene myself but judging from the position of the scar, it looks like the attack came from behind. Second Master has always had excellent hearing from young and the ability to tell his position based on it; even when blindfolded he can dodge all attacks. But that was such a deep bite left on his neck, why didn’t he dodge that? Who was in front of him? Whom was he trying to protect?’

² 八九不離十 bā-jiǔ bùlí shí. Translation belongs to theresanother(DOT)wordpress(DOT)com.

Dandan listened to all this in a daze and answered, ‘Back then… I was the one in front of him… my eyes were injured, if he had dodged… then I…’

Dandan was startled as it suddenly dawned on him: Song Lin got bitten by the Vampire Beast for my sake.

He had even mocked him back then for not being able to evade the Vampire Beast’s attack but Song Lin had merely laughed it off, saying ‘I was just giving you the chance to play the hero and save your master.’

So it wasn’t that he hadn’t been able to dodge the attack — rather, he had not wanted to.

Styx continued, ‘Second Master’s protectiveness towards you is barely short of hiding you away. Do you think he would really sell you off? For your sake, he hasn’t scrupled to offend Eldest Master, offend the League, offend the House of Bai. He’s already done so much for you, do you honestly believe he would sell you off?’

Dandan was completely stumped by this whole series of questions and after a long interval, finally replied, ‘I guess that means he won’t sell me then…’

‘I didn’t like you when you first came to the Song Manor and that hasn’t changed.’

‘You don’t have to keep emphasising that…’ Dandan interjected in a small voice.

‘Your background was too abnormal and your motives suspect. In the beginning, I strenuously objected to Second Master’s taking you in. But my opinion of you improved slightly after you risked your life to save Second Master in the Fascinating Forest. After all, if you had come to the Song Manor with bad intentions, there was no way you would have risked your life for him in the Fascinating Forest. I felt then that even though there were so many unanswered questions about you, at the very least, you wouldn’t hurt Young Master and that was good enough. So, even though Eldest Master had ordered me to find a way to chase you away secretly, I still let you remain here.’

‘Song Fuyan was so vicious? He wanted you to chase me away?’

Styx glared at him so Dandan could only shrug and say, ‘Fine, fine, fine, your Eldest Master is the best, no one should talk bad about him.’

Styx massaged the space between his eyebrows. ‘But today I discovered that letting you stay here was a huge mistake because even if you personally wouldn’t harm Second Master, the secret which you’re hiding will invite danger and bring Eldest Master and the entire Song clan unnecessary trouble. The League, the colonel, and the House of Bai are by no means easy to deal with. Young Master has already fought Chen Yang for your sake, who’s going to be next? Whom will he have to fight to the death for your sake? What if the next enemy is a hundred times more powerful than Chen Yang? If it weren’t for you, he would never have to face all this danger. The House of Song has not held anything back from you, but you? From start to finish, you’ve refused to say a word about³ the life you’ve led. Is this fair?’

³ 絕口不提 juékǒubùtí. Please consider reading from theresanother(DOT)wordpress(DOT)com rather than from novelscraping sites.

Having heard up to this point, Dandan lowered his eyes and thought for a long time. He had a thousand thoughts running through his mind but he didn’t know how to express them. Finally he moistened his lips slightly and said, ‘The only thing I can guarantee you is that I have never once thought of hurting Song Lin. He’s my owner, even if I have to sacrifice my life, I will protect him.’

‘So you intend to confront the secret which you’re hiding and the disaster it is going to bring all by yourself? Don’t be silly, a Guardian and a spirit beast are inextricably bound in life and death after making a pact. Facing everything alone is impossible. Your only choice is to be honest with Second Master about everything so that you can face it together. Only then can you possibly have a chance at succeeding.’

Styx drew out the Qingling pendant from a drawer and placed it on the table. ‘Young Master handed this to me for temporary safekeeping. I’m returning it to you now. I believe that is also what Young Master would want.’

Dandan picked up the pendant and gazed at it for a while before saying, ‘Thank you…’

‘Bai Yini has a lu-shu for her bonded spirit beast which is akin to holding the trump card. Yet she was prepared to sacrifice the title of Arch-Guardian just to obtain you. Do you know what that signifies? It means that the catastrophe you’re about to invite may be something not even the House of Song can withstand. If I had any say, I would certainly chase you out, do you understand? I shouldn’t be speaking of these things to you at all, but I must for the sake of the Song clan. If you’re going to cause an unnecessary catastrophe for Young Master or the House of Song, I’ll kill you before that danger can materialise.’

‘Styx, I understand your feelings. I was once like you, conquering all obstacles and going through fire and water for one person. You can rest assured that I’ll never let Song Lin come to any harm.’


(Approx. 2210 words)

☆ Please show moral support by reading the original and free translations from hiding in plain sight. © 12 and theresanother.wordpress.com 2017. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of the above material without express and written permission from 12 is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to 12 and theresanother(DOT)wordpress(DOT)com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content. Example here.

©


 
 
 

Translated and edited by 12


Previous Chapter | Next Chapter

Browse all chapters| Glossary

2 thoughts on “The Godlike Jade Rabbit Chapter 46.4

  1. I laughed when the sword flew out and out comes Dandan and Troy. :’) Those two cute idiots. I don’t even know why you guys bothered trying to hide…

    Omg though, trying to get Song Lin or Dandan to be truthful about their feelings is like pulling teeth. It’s funny when Dandan pretends to not care, or Song Lin says one thing when he did the exact opposite, but at the same time it’s aggravating. 8); The fact that Styx has to go and lay everything out clearly for Dandan is convenient, but c’mon! Communication!!! Is key!!! ;O;!!! Styx is nice and trying to lay everything out, but ffs Song Lin, if Dandan has no idea about your feelings then he’s going to keep doing hare brained nonsense. And yeah, Dandan has been hiding a lot too, but also Dandan is pretty dumb, guys. You kind of… need to spell things out… :’D

    Styx has definitely grown on me though! Though telling Dandan to be honest when Song Lin is just as dishonest is… YOU’RE SHOWING YOUR BIASES STYX.

    Thanks for the translation!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I guess that’s where a lot of the tension comes in 😉 haha! Also, a bit of whoever admits to having feelings first is the one who loses, perhaps. Not to mention Dandan may not fully comprehend how he really feels about this new owner…
      My pleasure! 💕

      Like

Leave a comment