The Godlike Jade Rabbit Chapter 78

‘I suspect that he’s up to something.’

Note: PLEASE DO NOT link any translations on this site to anywhere on Novel Updates, whether it’s the updates list or reading lists.


© 12 and
theresanother.wordpress.com
2017 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of the translation without express and written permission from 12 is strictly prohibited.


 

Ch. 78 | Epilogue 2

 
My name is Dandan and I’m a jade rabbit. I’ve led a very long and boring life so there’s nothing worth mentioning. Recently however, something quite amazing did happen.

Er, well… I inadvertently made a name for myself overnight in a battle on Crescent Moon Ridge…

Then after a few months’ convalescence, I left the house and was almost shocked to death because I had suddenly gained all these fans. While walking down the street, all these pretty girls would rush up to me for autographs.

Styx said they had even formed something called a… a ‘fan club’? All of which was still okay but the point is, somebody said that I liked carrots and that’s when my nightmares began…

Can you imagine what it’s like to be walking down the street halfway only to have people stick bouquets of carrots under your nose?!

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻

I almost fainted after getting a whiff of the ‘delicate fragrance’ of carrots fresh from the soil…

To think that a magnificent jade rabbit like me, who never even flinched in the face of a mountain of enemies, would almost die now because of carrots.

And my ordeal wasn’t over by any means because fans began mailing carrots to the house.

Song Lin said we could not waste them, so every meal was accompanied by a plate of carrots.

On the verge of a breakdown, I asked Styx, ‘Is there a way to make it clear once and for all to everyone that I don’t like these orangey sticks?’

He stroked his chin and suggested thoughtfully, ‘Why don’t you hold a ‘meet and greet’ with your fans then?’

I asked him what the heck was that?

Styx explained that it’s a gathering of one’s fans where they can meet me.

I told him fine and to go ahead and arrange one.

Later on, Song Lin said that at this meet and greet, my fans would be able to shake my hand, hug me and kiss my face so he called it off without a second thought. With a very menacing expression, he then dragged me into the bedroom and bullied me mercilessly, asking me if I dared to have a meet and greet with my fans?

I cried and kept telling him I wouldn’t dare.

And so that’s all that came of it¹.

¹ 不了了之. If you’re not reading this chapter at hiding in plain sight, it has been stolen and reproduced by novelscraping sites.

The other day while passing by the Exchange, I came across Liang Feng’s stall. It turned out that he had been sheltering under Nox’s wings during those few days when Ridge City had been burning and so he had escaped unscathed.

He’s earning his own keep nowadays by selling handmade crafts.

He still hasn’t forgiven himself and hence refuses to make a pact with Nox again, but Nox just stays by his side silently. They both have a tacit understanding² so you could say they’re together in a way.

‘It’s quite strange,’ Liang Feng told me, scratching his head. ‘Of late, people will come by every day and buy up the rest of my crafts, so not only do I double my profits, I get to close up early and go home and rest.’

I didn’t want to tell him that those people were sent by Liang Luoheng. He won’t allow his son to return home, but he can’t bear to see him suffer either. The Liangs are all insufferably stiff-necked that way, so what can anyone do?

² 心照不宣. Please consider reading from theresanother(DOT)wordpress(DOT)com rather than from novelscraping sites.

Another happy thing of note is that Bi An’s yuefan flower finally bloomed and he invited me over to admire it.

When I got there however, he was so busy with work that he couldn’t entertain me.

Feng Chulian, who has recovered somewhat, was sunning himself in the courtyard. To be honest, he really is a beautiful man, outshining even Bai Yini. If Ridge City were to vote on the most beautiful person now regardless of gender, Feng Chulian would probably walk away with the honour.

Ever since Bi An took over as High Priest, he’s been very busy and is hardly at home.

‘We ought to have dinner together at least,’ Feng Chulian complained languidly to me as he lay back in his rocking chair.

I looked at his side profile and suddenly understood why he had made a recovery: it was because he had finally found a new emotional support and therefore had a reason to continue living.

His psychological illness needed a psychological cure.

I didn’t stay very long at the Priest’s Manor today because Song Lin is waiting for me at home. He said he’s prepared a candlelit dinner for me tonight. But he had a very shifty expression when he told me this and I suspect that he’s up to something.

I don’t care, if he dares to try and do it with me seven times in one night again, I’ll stick the Nine Star Halberd into his skull and split it open.

I mean it.


(Approx. 817 words)

☆ Please show moral support by reading the original and free translations from hiding in plain sight. © 12 and theresanother.wordpress.com 2017. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of the above material without express and written permission from 12 is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to 12 and theresanother(DOT)wordpress(DOT)com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content. Example here.

©


 
 
 

Translated and edited by 12


Epilogue | Epilogue 3

Browse all chapters| Glossary

2 thoughts on “The Godlike Jade Rabbit Chapter 78

  1. My poor rabbit and his hatred for carrots. XDXDXD

    I can’t believe Song Lin is making him eat them… how cruel, Song Lin…

    AAAAAAA THANK YOU AUTHOR FOR GIVING ME SOME SORT OF CLOSURE WITH NOX AND LIANG FENG. ;O; I was hoping really hard it wasn’t just going to dangle forever…

    I get why the author didn’t really bother going into Bi An and Feng Chulian’s relationship (because it’s Dandan and Song Lin’s story and not theirs), but it was a bit of whiplash from Feng Chulian languishing about to die to him being happy and healthy :’D I’m really happy for him and Bi An though!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Same here, so glad for Nox that he had his happy ending of sorts. Would have been awful if he had just been abandoned in the marsh.

      Like

Leave a comment