The Godlike Jade Rabbit Chapter 79*

This wraps up The Godlike Jade Rabbit! Thanks for reading and in particular, special thanks and appreciation to shadowgrid for all your wonderfully enjoyable comments and to maarrii5331 for all your likes! 🥰🧡💙

Note: PLEASE DO NOT link any translations on this site to anywhere on Novel Updates, whether it’s the updates list or reading lists.


© 12 and
theresanother.wordpress.com
2017 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of the translation without express and written permission from 12 is strictly prohibited.


 

Ch. 79 | Epilogue 3

 
My name is Yu Huan and I’m an itinerant Guardian. My hobbies are travelling to scenic places and not holding down a proper job, not that I’ve ever had one.

I have three spirit beasts: a taotie, a flood dragon and a jade rabbit.

To be honest, I’ve always felt that I have rather good taste in general but when it comes to these three spirit beasts of mine… how shall I put it… ermmm…

The taotie is a glutton who can devour an entire mountain’s worth of fruits when he’s hungry.

The flood dragon loves money, a real money-grubbing¹ type. He also loves to romp around with female flood dragons which is a real headache for me. Supposing he has children — should I rear them or not??

¹ 見錢眼開. If you’re not reading this chapter at hiding in plain sight, it has been stolen and reproduced by novelscraping sites.

The jade rabbit… he doesn’t appear to have any strange peccadilloes as far as I can tell, except that he loves to follow me everywhere like a shadow, all the while complaining that he hates me, which I find rather cute.

I happen to be the type who has neither food nor money, and I don’t know how to care for my pets so over time, the litany of complaints from my three pets has grown really long.

I guess they must really hate me otherwise they wouldn’t have said to me, ‘Oi, when are you going to kick the bucket so we can go look for a new owner?’

That really hurt my feelings, thus I starved them out of sadness that very night.

In the end the three of them went to forage for food and even brought some back for me as an afterthought. I smiled and thanked them and those three fiends promptly declared that they would be through with me if it happened again.

Well, it’s been years now and they haven’t succeeded in being through with me; instead, they’re still eagerly following me around.

In particular, that little rabbit.

I once asked them, ‘What will you all do if I die one day?’

The taotie said, ‘I’ll find a new owner who can cook.’

The flood dragon answered, ‘I won’t look for another owner. I want to set up my own business and earn loads of money², then marry a few wives — wouldn’t that be the life?’

² 腰纏萬貫. Please consider reading from theresanother(DOT)wordpress(DOT)com rather than from novelscraping sites.

The rabbit didn’t say anything but merely pouted as he looked at me.

I asked, ‘What?? Not a single one of you will miss me?’

They seemed to find this hilarious and told me, ‘Are you kidding? We only wish you would hurry up and die!’

‘Ah, I’m so sad,’ I said, pretending to wipe away tears.

‘You don’t look in the least bit sad, okay?’ they chorused.

Then one day, I came down with the flu and was rather giddy. I’m the type who rarely ever falls sick but when I do, it’s pretty serious and I was unable to get out of bed even after a week.

Those three fellows were really scared and took turns to watch over me every night, making soups and boiling medicinal drinks for me, and mopping my brow.

But they only did all that while I was asleep.

Sigh, typical case of their barks being worse than their bites.

Lao Feng says that I have a ‘love-hate relationship’ with them.

0h, Lao Feng’s full name is Feng Chulian and he’s the High Priest of Ridge City. His forte is divination.

What’s that? You’re already very familiar with him?

Fine, he’s appeared in the story more times than I have whereas I’ll always only be a memory. I’m what they call the invisible male lead — I’m well aware of it, so you can all stop rubbing it in.

I enjoy hanging around the Priest’s Manor. The mountain sprite knows me well and always lets me enter by the back door. Lao Feng always grumbles when he sees me but he’s actually really happy when I visit him. People get lonely when they’ve lived for too long and when they’re lonely, they look for companionship.

I wonder who will keep him company when I’m dead.

Then one day, I really died.

I died in a fire on Dragon Ridge.

The little rabbit hugged my body as he cried his eyes out. That was the first time I ever saw him cry as if the world had ended, I felt really bad for him.

He’s actually the one I worry about the most.

He doesn’t know how to express himself and even less how to look after himself which is why I brought him everywhere with me. Such a pity that I couldn’t take him along this time. I had to go somewhere very far away for a very long time, so this time I couldn’t take him with me.

I’m really very sorry that I wasn’t a very good owner. If there is a next life, I’ll try to do better.

I wonder how he’s doing after my death?

He has a prickly disposition; I just hope his new owner will like him.

I wonder if he takes his meals on time, if he’s unhappy every night, if he hates me?

If you should find out, please let me know.

Thank you.


(Approx. 869 words)

*300th post of this blog.

☆ Please show moral support by reading the original and free translations from hiding in plain sight. © 12 and theresanother.wordpress.com 2017. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of the above material without express and written permission from 12 is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to 12 and theresanother(DOT)wordpress(DOT)com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content. Example here.

©


 
 
 

Translated and edited by 12


Epilogue 2

Browse all chapters| Glossary

7 thoughts on “The Godlike Jade Rabbit Chapter 79*

  1. AAA I CAN’T BELIEVE IT’S THE END! I’m both happy and sad. :’D Thank you so much for translating this and sharing it with the rest of us! It was a great novel overall!

    Oh man, Yu Huan’s POV. I’m just… really anticipating this but also I’m readying for my heart break! BRING IT!!!

    …Oh no they’re all cute. All tsunderes… ;; In another, parallel world, Yu Huan and his three spirit beasts will be able to live together happily! ;O;

    LOL BREAKING THE FOURTH WALL. That’s great, wow, I did not expect that.

    …Yup. There’s my heart hurting. :’) Yu Huan, you idiot. You know how much Dandan loved you. ;;

    I know I said it, but I can’t believe it’s the end already. It was a really good length for a novel and a lot of fun. ❤ Again, thanks for all your hard work!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know, right?! So torn when a novel ends…

      But I’m glad it ended on an unabashedly fluffy note with happy endings for everyone.

      My pleasure and again, thank you so much for all your comments❣️ I had actually completed the draft translation of this story before I began publishing it so I would likely have finished it, but your comments and engagement with the story were the best incentive to make really regular updates happen for this story. Really, half the fun for me came from reading your responses since I had already lost that fresh feeling of the first read 😂

      Like

      1. Gosh, I remember when I first stumbled onto the story and went “HOW ARE THERE NO COMMENTS /ROLLS UP SLEEVES” :D;;; I love how fluffy it was overall and I’m really happy you enjoyed my comments, even if they were pretty all over the place, haha. ❤ ❤

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Thank you for reading from here and leaving a comment, Sabrina! Yay, a new reader!❣️ 👏🏻👏🏻 Glad you enjoyed the story! 😄

          Like

  2. acabei de perceber que o taotie foi o único do trio que não apareceu (ou eu que não lembro).
    obrigada por traduzir ❤

    Like

Leave a comment