The Godlike Jade Rabbit Chapter 75

Execution is key 🤣…

Note: PLEASE DO NOT link any translations on this site to anywhere on Novel Updates, whether it’s the updates list or reading lists.


© 12 and
theresanother.wordpress.com
2017 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of the translation without express and written permission from 12 is strictly prohibited.


 

Ch. 75 | A forceful confession

 
Dandan slept until noon the next day and did not see Song Lin when he woke up. Feeling a little doubtful, he caught hold of a servant girl who was passing by and asked her, ‘Have you seen Second Master?’

The servant girl scratched her chin and looked up at the sky. ‘He went out early this morning, saying he was going to the Bai Manor.’

‘The Bai Manor?’ Dandan was badly startled.

Don’t tell me he’s really gone to meet his prospective bride?
No, no, no…
No, it can’t be. They… don’t seem attracted to each other at all!
But Bai Yini is beautiful, devastatingly beautiful at that. Song Lin must also think so; he also once commented that ‘I met the eldest daughter of the Bai clan before, she is quite lovely.’
Not to mention that Song Fuyan said she was intelligent and reasonable, gentle and understanding. What if Song Lin ends up falling in love with her over time?

Dandan frowned, longing to go and spy on them but not daring to.

Seeing his conflicted expression, the servant girl asked, ‘Are you having a stomach ache?’

‘Huh? No, no…’ Dandan waved his hands, thought about it some more and asked, ‘Did Second Master say what time he was coming back?’

The servant girl shook her head, ‘No, he didn’t.’

Dandan looked round. ‘Where’s Eldest Master?’

‘Eldest Master has gone to the Priest’s Manor to look after Styx.’

‘Oh…’ Dandan realised: I’m the only one here.

Having spent some time staring into space in the garden, he decided: I might as well go see how Styx is doing.

At the foot of Crescent Moon Ridge, the mountain sprite was used to him by now and merely rolled his eyes before saying, ‘Come in then.’

‘Eh? You’re not going to stop me this time?’

The mountain sprite scratched his ear. ‘You can come and go as you like. Hurry up and go in.’

Very pleased with himself¹, Dandan crowed, ‘If you had just let me in like this from the start, there wouldn’t have been so many problems.’

Mountain sprite: … Seriously, he never wanted to see this infernal rabbit ever again.

¹ 美滋滋. If you’re not reading this chapter at hiding in plain sight, it has been stolen and reproduced by novelscraping sites.

The courtyard of the Priest’s Manor had been mostly restored to its former glory: the plants and buildings which had been burnt down looked as good as new.

Bi An was tending to his yuefan flower and upon seeing Dandan, adjusted his clothes and remarked, ‘So you didn’t get barred from entering this time, eh.’

‘The mountain sprite has probably fallen under the spell of my good looks because he didn’t even ask any questions just now but just let me in.’

Bi An snorted a laugh. ‘Silly, he did so on Teacher’s orders. Teacher said that if you come again, you’re to be let in directly.’

Dandan was rather amazed. ‘That old fox hates my guts. Why would he give such an order?’

After hearing this, Bi An’s smile vanished and he said in a subdued voice, ‘Teacher’s dying and he’s already decided to let me take over his place. He knows you and I are old friends, so he’s granting you this favour.’

‘…’ It was some time before Dandan asked, ‘The old fox is really going to die?’

Bi An’s head drooped. ‘Teacher’s illness is psychological. He’s lived for too long, witnessed too many things in this world, seen through life and death and human desires and emotions, hence he doesn’t think there’s any meaning to life any more. In the past, there used to be a Yu Huan to joke around with but ever since Yu Huan died, there’s been no one who can understand him. He’s unhappy every day and even if he smiles, it doesn’t reach his eyes. Over time, it built up into an illness. If only there were some way to make him happy.’

Dandan nodded. ‘Sometimes, living a long life isn’t a blessing. You’ll just watch as all those dear to you leave you one by one until you’re the only one left.’

‘I keep thinking, how nice it would be if only I could become his new emotional support, but he only treats me as his disciple. In his eyes, I’m just a child.’

Dandan patted his shoulder. ‘Don’t despair, everything will become better.’

Bi An opened his mouth as if he wanted to say something but then thought the better of it.

Dandan looked round. ‘Where’s Song Fuyan?’

‘In the treatment room.’

‘Still looking after Styx?’

Bi An nodded.

‘Then I shan’t disturb them.’

‘I’m actually rather surprised. Always thought that Song Fuyan was a cold-blooded creature, but he’s actually turned out to be so devoted.’

‘Now that’s something you don’t realise. These reticent types will bury their feelings deep inside their hearts, who knows, maybe your teacher feels that way about you…’

The mention of Feng Chulian caused Bi An to look glum again, so Dandan hurriedly changed the subject. ‘Do you think Styx will wake up?’

‘… No idea, it depends on his luck.’

At this moment, the sound of coughing came from one of the rooms. Bi An hurried into it, followed by Dandan. They saw Feng Chulian lying in bed with a thin sleeping gown draped over him, his face chalky with none of the healthy glow of old.

‘Teacher, how do you feel?’ Bi An asked with deep concern.

‘It’s nothing, my throat just feels a little sore.’ Feng Chulian looked up, saw Dandan behind and said, ‘Oh, you’re here, I was about to send for you.’

A surprised Dandan pointed at himself. ‘… Me?’

‘Come over here,’ Feng Chulian said mildly.

Dandan thus went over to the High Priest who stretched out his hand and rested it on the latter’s heart. A faint light radiated from his palm before it faded slowly away. The High Priest removed his hand and said slowly, ‘Some days ago, I read through the Transmigration Spell in The Ancient Book of Spells.’

Dandan started at the mention of this spell.

‘The pages that you took from the book were incomplete, there were still pages that you had missed out.’

‘W-what do you mean…’

‘When Guardians die, they can be reborn through their Soul Energy Crystals, however, reincarnated Guardians rely on a foetus for their own births and after being born, will detach themselves from the baby’s body. That is to say, Song Lin is not Yu Huan reincarnated; he smells like him only because Yu Huan borrowed Madam Song’s foetus during her pregnancy. The real Yu Huan went elsewhere.’

It took Dandan a very long time to recover from this revelation.

‘Then… then what about Song Lin losing all his spiritual power on the first day of every fifth lunar month? Isn’t it because of Yu Huan’s soul departing Song Lin’s body?’

‘I’ve already asked Song Fuyan about that. He says it’s hereditary so it has nothing to do with Yu Huan.’

Bi An couldn’t resist interrupting. ‘Since Song Lin isn’t Yu Huan, doesn’t that mean Dandan made a pact with two owners? That means he’ll suffer divine wrath and have his heart gnawed away.’

Feng Chulian looked at Dandan. ‘You previously experienced some heart pain, didn’t you?’

Dandan answered honestly, ‘Yes…’

Feng Chulian said, ‘No need to worry. I’ve examined your heart receptacle and it’s been entirely reconstructed, meaning, the present you is an entirely new spirit beast so your previous bond with Yu Huan doesn’t count. You only have one new owner now and that’s Song Lin.’

Dandan let out a breath at last. ‘Then I won’t have to die? I can be with him for a very, very long time.’

Bi An asked, ‘Do you still want to look for Yu Huan?’

‘I do want to see how he’s doing, but if Song Lin isn’t happy about it then I won’t go. Phantom can go in my place and it’ll be the same.’ His eyes lowered and he added, ‘I hope Yu Huan is leading a good life now.’

I hope he’s leading the life he wants.

After leaving, Dandan had a strange feeling. Does Feng Chulian feel that his time will soon be up so he helped me to ask about all these matters…
Really, he’s quite kind to me…

When he got back to the Song Manor, Song Lin was already back and asked him, ‘Where did you go?’

‘The Priest’s Manor.’

Song Lin frowned. ‘To look for Bi An again? Is there something going on between the two of you?’

‘Impossible.’ Dandan noticed how smartly dressed he was and remembering that he had gone to the Bai Manor, couldn’t help feeling jealous. ‘You and Miss Bai chatted the whole morning away, huh.’

‘Mm hm,’ Song Lin was loosening his tie as he spoke. ‘We were talking about our marital alliance.’

Marital alliance? Dandan’s heart quickened. ‘You two are really going to get married?!’

‘Her mother wants her to marry me,’ replied Song Lin.

‘… Oh… just nice then, since your brother wants you to marry her… congratulations,’ Dandan said unenthusiastically.

‘We’re not interested in each other so we were discussing how to call off the match,’ Song Lin explained after seeing his expression, adding, ‘Were you worried?’

‘… Yep.’ Dandan nodded.

Song Lin stared at him in surprise.

‘Why are you looking at me like that?’

‘Nothing much, just that I find your honesty cute.’

At this time, they were in the garden with the sunshine casting a warm glow over everything. For some indefinable reason, Dandan felt that it was time: Phantom was right, it was best to speak frankly. If it worked out, good and if it didn’t, then that was just how things were.

He thus cleared his throat and began, ‘Song Lin, stay where you are and give me a moment, I have something to tell you.’

Song Lin said, ‘I’m all ears²’.

² 洗耳恭聽. Translation belongs to theresanother(DOT)wordpress(DOT)com.

Dandan ran back to his room, picked up the whole bag of stuff Phantom had given him and went back to Song Lin while hiding it behind him.

‘Ahem… just now Feng Chulian told me that… Yu Huan was reincarnated but not as you…’ Dandan stole a cautious look at him, weighing how best to bring up the subject.

Seeing Song Lin’s impassive face made him even more nervous. ‘But since my heart receptacle has been entirely reconstructed, the old pact doesn’t count. Since I didn’t make a pact with two owners, I won’t have to worry that my heart will be gnawed away.’

Having got to this point Dandan stopped, full of anxiety. For goodness’ sakes, all these don’t matter, the main point is to confess my feelings!! But the more important the words, the more I don’t know how to say them. This is driving me crazy!

This pause was fatal however because Song Lin misinterpreted it as ‘since it turns out you’re not the real Yu Huan, then sorry, I’m going to leave and look for the real one.’

If one were looking at Song Lin’s side profile, one could clearly see his lashes quivering. The minutes ticked by and just as Dandan was wrestling with when exactly was the most romantic moment for a confession, he heard Song Lin say, ‘I get it.’

‘Huh?’

What do you get? I haven’t even said anything yet…

Although Song Lin’s face was impassive, his hands were already balled up. ‘Go ahead and leave. I’ll dissolve our pact.’

‘… WHAT??!!’ Dandan’s eyes grew wide. ‘Why?!’

‘I told you before, only I can dump you. When you walk out of the Song Manor today, it’s because I chased you away,’ the haughty Second Master Song was clinging to the remnants of his pride as he said this.

Dandan was bewildered. Why have things ended up like this?

‘Why do you want to chase me away?’

Song Lin gazed at him and stated softly, ‘You have your freedom.’

I love you so I’ll set you free. He then turned and left.

‘Wait a minute!’ Dandan hurriedly reached out to grab him, dropping the whole bag of stuff in the process. He manipulated some tree branches to block Song Lin’s path, exclaiming, ‘You can’t leave!’

Song Lin asked, ‘What? You’re going to use force?’

Dandan replied, ‘Y-you can’t beat me now.’

‘I can’t beat you when you’re in beast mode but in your normal mode, we’re evenly matched.’

‘No, no, no, this is all wrong, I’m not looking for a fight.’ Dandan’s ears were twitching agitatedly.

‘Using these tree branches to stop me from leaving — what are you up to if you’re not looking for a fight?’

‘I… I’m trying to…’ Stopping him from leaving was imperative and in the heat of the moment, Dandan threw caution to the wind, snapped his fingers and with a cracking sound, peach blossoms suddenly bloomed on every single branch, every blossom soft and fair, just as if it were spring.

‘You’re…’ Song Lin stared open-mouthed³ after suddenly finding himself in a sea of flowers.

³ 目瞪口呆. Please consider reading from hiding in plain sight rather than from novelscraping sites.

‘I’m confessing my feelings…’ Dandan said weakly. ‘I heard that the most romantic confessions have flowers, wine and a beauty so I thought I… I would give it a try…’ He broke off a spray of peach blossoms which he placed in Song Lin’s hand, followed that up with a kiss to his palm and said, ‘I like you. I like you the most. I like you more than anything else in the world.’

Song Lin’s eyes widened slightly upon hearing this.

Just then, a gentle breeze caused petals to drift through the air, turning the whole place pink.

‘Can you be with me? Can you not take a wife? I don’t know how to wash or cook but I’ll love you more than all of those girls combined, will that do?’

After a long time, Song Lin picked up the flowers in his hand and sniffed them. ‘I’m a man so why are you courting me as though I’m a woman?’

‘Ah, I’m sorry! It was Phantom who taught me…?’

‘We have flowers. Where’s the wine?’ Song Lin interrupted him.

‘Wine?… I have it, I have it!’ Dandan eagerly produced a bottle from the assorted stuff lying on the ground. ‘This is red wine! What a waste, it’s broken…’

‘Not really wasted,’ Song Lin’s mouth curved up. ‘Only a bit has been spilt.’

Dandan patted his chest with relief. ‘Oh, good.’

‘And where’s the beauty?’ Song Lin continued.

Dandan struggled inwardly for a long time before reluctantly pointing at himself. ‘Me… will that do?’

‘You’ll do.’ Song Lin stroked his lip lightly. ‘I’m very satisfied with the flowers, wine and beauty, but can you explain what all those are?’ He pointed at the ground where there was an assortment of tools — a whip, handcuffs, rope, blindfolds, candles were all in a heap together, plus some skin tight clothing, all of which made for a very eye-catching sight.

‘Er… they’re… just things which Phantom threw in for free. Don’t mind them… just take it that they’re not there…’ Dandan was in the midst of his explanation when he was suddenly pulled into an embrace and Song Lin said into his ear, ‘I really feel like giving them a try.’

Eh? Try what? Dandan’s eyes widened. ‘No… Song Lin, calm down… listen to me… aahhh!!’ The next moment, he was lifted up and being carried into the bedroom.

Nooooo… Dandan wailed internally. This can’t be right! This shouldn’t be happening! Somebody save me?!


(Approx. 2571 words)

☆ Please show moral support by reading the original and free translations from hiding in plain sight. © 12 and theresanother.wordpress.com 2017. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of the above material without express and written permission from 12 is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to 12 and theresanother(DOT)wordpress(DOT)com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content. Example here.

©


 
 
 

Translated and edited by 12


Previous Chapter | Next Chapter

Browse all chapters| Glossary

2 thoughts on “The Godlike Jade Rabbit Chapter 75

  1. Ughhh, just get together already… it feels like its been half my lifeeeee LOL.

    I really hope Feng Chulian doesn’t die, if only because of how devastated Bi An will be, and Bi An deserves everything good in the world. ;; Are you telling me, Feng Chulian, that Bi An doesn’t give you happiness???? HE’S YOUR CUTE LITTLE DISCIPLE!!

    Also, huuuh, I guess Song Lin really isn’t Yu Huan’s reincarnation… Not super sure how I feel about this. :’) I mean, I’m happy Song Lin won’t have to keep comparing himself to Yu Huan, but on the other than, Yu Huan and Dandan’s story just emotionally eviscerates me, haha. Song Lin thinking there may be something going on between Bi An and Dandan really made me laugh though. C’mon now… they’re obviously really good friends!

    AAA DANDAN JUST ADMITTING STRAIGHT OUT THAT HE’S WORRIED!

    Om….fg… please, stop misunderstanding each other… THANK YOU DANDAN FOR JUST SAYING IT AND BEING SUPER CUTE WITH THE FLOWERS!!!

    ….AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHAHAHAHAHA. PHANTOM!!! YOU ROGUE!!! THANK YOU. FINALLY. I FEEL MY SOUL LIFTING LOLOLOL.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. 😂😂🤣🤣

      Actually, the very first story I read by this author also had two couples and the supporting couple with their super angsty story sometimes overshadowed the main couple who had more of a goofball relationship. So it’s a bit of a thing with her to see-saw between the main couple and secondary couple. Maybe it pays off cos I still remember the gist of the story 😂

      Like

Leave a comment